Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #241 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2013, 06:34 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,598

My System Specs

Default

Please let them come out with that soon... also make it so you know emergency vehicles have the right of way?
Reply With Quote
  #242 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2013, 05:49 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,509

My System Specs

Default

So what's Sim City 5324324 like anyways? I missed Sim City 5 through 5324323.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #243 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2013, 07:04 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YukonTrooper View Post
So what's Sim City 5324324 like anyways? I missed Sim City 5 through 5324323.
They've decreased the city size to improve simulation and you can only play from 9pm - 9:45pm then the servers go down for maintenance for about an hour, then you can play for about 20 more minutes before they shut the servers down for the night to save on energy costs. I haven't renewed my SimCity premium subscription this year yet though.
Reply With Quote
  #244 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2013, 08:19 AM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,686
Default

Maxis CEO called this a MMO. Not entirely sure how really.

Anyways good article from RPS SimCity Boss?s ?Straight Answers? Seem Pretty Wiggly | Rock, Paper, Shotgun

another good read from the modder responsible for offline play on the possibilities of offline region play and just how pathetic EA's servers must be. From what I can tell there should have been zero problems at launch considering the servers dont do anything. Nothing more than a lot of free applications do anyways.
SimCity Modder Tells Us Offline Regional Play Easily Done | Rock, Paper, Shotgun

Last edited by muse108dc; March 16, 2013 at 03:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #245 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2013, 04:21 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for all those links to stories, the comments are golden. If this was a shareware game I'd have let the timer expire, and only register it if they fixed the bugs.

I'm not having issues anymore getting onto a server, but the server/client communication, the apparent simple numbers flowing back and forth keep screwing me over. I built a large industrial city with a population of 150k(fudged) that supposedly has 30k(fudged?) jobs available. So after nearly draining the available oil resource I took over a neighboring city to export oil to the industrial city.

So I relied on the operational city for power, water, garbage, health, fire, police to start. As I expected I had to invest in its own clinic, fire, police, and eventually garbage..... But the broken server/client communication means the 60mw extra from industrial city isn't available (headshot, mesquite isn't buying that much is it?) so there goes $30k for a wind farm ontop of a hill.

The big thing, is the gifting.... I'm gifting 5k-10k barrels of oil at a time as trade depots get full back to industrial city. Then I play over there and the incoming gifts of oil number in the hundreds of thousands of barrels of oil. A truck drops off 1k and a train 5k, but there's still over a half million barrels on the way...... Someone fail at math?
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
  #246 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2013, 08:32 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

Yea I'm pretty sure your services were showing up there when I bought them, but yea it did take a while for them to start kicking in. I only have a windfarm with 2 windmills so I must be getting power from you. I think I'm sending you my sewage and possibly garbage too. :)
Reply With Quote
  #247 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2013, 08:40 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,598

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DoorGTZ View Post
The big thing, is the gifting.... I'm gifting 5k-10k barrels of oil at a time as trade depots get full back to industrial city. Then I play over there and the incoming gifts of oil number in the hundreds of thousands of barrels of oil. A truck drops off 1k and a train 5k, but there's still over a half million barrels on the way...... Someone fail at math?
Actually I've figured out slightly what happens or what needs to happen if you are sending gifts between two cities you play yourself.

Perform the gift as you normally would, however once the gift has been sent DO NOT switch to the other city. You NEED to see the gift has been sent and is no longer in transit from YOUR side before switching over to your other city (as it technically hasn't left your city yet). Once the donator city no longer shows the gift in transit, then switch over to that second city, wait a few in game hours (which isn't long on cheetah) and BAM gifts received.

Found this out through trial and error, however it seems I always get the gifts I send to my 2nd city if I do this process, otherwise the game hasn't seen the item leave city 1 to get to city 2
Reply With Quote
  #248 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2013, 09:47 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,598

My System Specs

Default

Well here are the list of games you can choose from:
  • Battlefield 3 (Standard Edition)
  • Bejeweled 3
  • Dead Space 3 (Standard Edition)
  • Mass Effect 3 (Standard Edition)
  • Medal of Honor Warfighter (Standard Edition)
  • Need For Speed Most Wanted (Standard Edition)
  • Plants vs. Zombies
  • SimCity 4 Deluxe Edition
Blog Article
Reply With Quote
  #249 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2013, 09:52 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,641
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
Well here are the list of games you can choose from:
  • Battlefield 3 (Standard Edition)
  • Bejeweled 3
  • Dead Space 3 (Standard Edition)
  • Mass Effect 3 (Standard Edition)
  • Medal of Honor Warfighter (Standard Edition)
  • Need For Speed Most Wanted (Standard Edition)
  • Plants vs. Zombies
  • SimCity 4 Deluxe Edition
Blog Article
Meh! I find it ironic Simcity 4 is on the list haha. But the rest of the games hold no interest me at all.
Reply With Quote
  #250 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2013, 09:46 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,509

My System Specs

Default

Get Mass Effect 3 or Dead Space 3 and you'll have the option of buying a proper ending. Dead Space 3 even has optional micro-transactions for weapons. Awesome!
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which city does Mem Express ship from? Pabz0r545 Off Topic 6 July 2, 2012 08:55 AM
[FS] Batman Arkham City for PC DeViLzzz2008 Buy/Sell & Trade 4 November 19, 2011 10:23 PM
Moving to the Big City... ad5ter New Builds 4 June 3, 2011 07:54 AM
Episodes For Liberty City shayan288 Gaming 8 January 20, 2011 04:26 AM
hmm, what to do in toronto city? Silvgearx Off Topic 22 July 30, 2009 05:07 PM