Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 11:47 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Default decreased framerate hl2 decals (flashlight etc)

Forgive me if they are not called decals..

Whenever i turn on a flashlight, or see smoke or dust, In Half-Life 2 close up. the frame rate slows down from a 32 to a 22 or even a 16. if i aim and simply shoot to the ground, it creates dust, and it really slows me down, and the sound skips. Other than this, game play is fine. Lights, flash light, and stuff using some form of image to display it is the cause of this.

How can I fix this problem?

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5200
Video: Geforce 6150SE nForce 430
RAM: 1918MB
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 32bit
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 11:55 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

You're running half-life 2 off a 6150? integrated? you're lucky its running at all... yikes....
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 12:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Default

That's nothing, i got it working on an ATi Raedon x600...

So besides getting a new card.. would there be any hope? I can't get a new card because technically I don't own this.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 12:04 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,939

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bryce View Post
Forgive me if they are not called decals..

How can I fix this problem?

Video: Geforce 6150SE nForce 430
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 32bit
theres you problem. Your GPU isn't that fast and the OS wont help much.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 12:05 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Yes as above you need a graphics card for HL2 you can easily get away with a < $100 video card like a 8600gt. However you will notice it's limitations very quickly in other games. But judging that you are running onboard gfx now... I would say the 8600gt is fine.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 12:12 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Van Isle, BC
Posts: 550
Default

Basically, your GPU can't handle the load. I would run the game in DirectX 8 (mat_dxlevel 80 in console) or DirectX 7 (mat_dxlevel 70) mode if you're having framerate issues.

Also, make sure you've downloaded and installed the latest drivers from Welcome to NVIDIA - World Leader in Visual Computing Technologies ...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 12:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Okay, I guess I will have to stay with it for now..

thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2008, 12:57 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

you could also try lower the detail settings and make sure HDR is turned off.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes