Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 12:44 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 631

My System Specs

Default BF3 ultra settings on an AMD X2 250?

I'm getting good framerates on ultra @ 1680x1050! How is this possible??
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 01:13 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

1680x1050 is far from a demanding resolution. Anything over 1080P would slow that CPU down to a crawl. Overclock that beast and see if you can get a few more frames out of it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 01:21 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 631

My System Specs

Default

I have it overclocked by 800 mhz to 3.8 ghz
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 01:26 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 385

My System Specs

Default

ummmm, higher res 99% of time take less cpu power, and far more gpu power, low res tend to be the opposite. Course this depends on the game in question.

BF3 scales VERY well with cpus, when the vast majority of dual cores, quad core, quad hyper threaded etc all get very similar frame rates at a given resolution, it speaks volumes of not tuly tapping the cpus raw processing capabilities.

example
Battlefield 3 GPU & CPU Performance > CPU Scaling and Performance - TechSpot Reviews

Very similar performance given a pretty specific test guidline, there is a huge price difference between these cpu, and yet, they all get similar performance. BF3 is GPU heavy, not so much on the cpu from a performance standpoint(it loads cpu decently judging from my temps, but % wise its not that high compared to other games I have)

For AMD, you want a high enough cpu clock, but you also want the cpu/nb to be higher as well, the memory bandwidth is very important, almost moreso then the raw cpu clock. 3.5Ghz on 4 core is plenty of processing power, on the other hand if the memory in/out of the cpu is to slow, then that processing power suffers bigtime.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OC Settings jumran Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 September 30, 2009 05:30 PM
Ultra XconnectVS and Ultra V series hohohee Member Reviews 9 April 15, 2009 05:11 PM
Old and New Settings WolfBane Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 51 February 28, 2009 07:23 PM
Setting XFI Card and Ultra High Settings in BF2... Canadianguy Audio 10 December 4, 2007 09:12 PM