Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2012, 12:15 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

I had re-enabled Windoze firewall at some point, but that was the first thing I killed.

I've got a bunch of stuff to try when I get home, I think the first will be booting into Vista since I had never setup a dial-up connection in that and see if the problem persists. Then try installing Steam on the Atom and bypass the router altogether. If that works I'll disable all the ports I've forwarded for steam and try that through the router.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2012, 02:04 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

So,

Boot in to Vista, Steam connects, downloads update, subsequently won't connect again.

Install Steam on Atom, Steam connects, downloads update, won't connect again

Bypass router, login screen comes up, can't remember password, hunts for the scrap of paper I wrote it on, enters it, connects to Steam.

Turn off all ten or so port forwards I've setup for Steam since like back in the beta days (it's a rather old router model and it's my second of that type) and sure enough Steam works. I'm guessing some of the ports that used to have to be manually forwarded have been phased out with proper uPnP support. I don't know why Valve still has that port forwarding page up in their troubleshooting section.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2012, 04:28 PM
On2wheels's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ontario
Posts: 987
Default

Figures. Steam has become quite user friendly the past year or 2, I rarely have problems. The Cloud is quite impressive too, saving my old savegames from 2yrs ago.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2012, 06:26 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 745

My System Specs

Default

I have never used portforwarding for steam EVERY and I have been on it since something like 2006 or maybe earlier.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2012, 06:42 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

I've been using it with the same model router since the first public beta in 2002. A lot of my port forwarding probably goes back to then or further.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Steam steam steam... Arinoth O/S's, Drivers & General Software 22 August 25, 2011 03:37 PM
SugarJ's "Nemesis Reborn" or just another TJ07 build SugarJ Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 105 July 7, 2010 03:21 PM
About Steam Kilauea Gaming 3 August 9, 2009 10:09 PM
SugarJ's Nemesis Rebuilt (or WCing, Cosmos S Style) SugarJ Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 46 February 6, 2009 10:25 AM
nemesis case cmac79 Guides & How-to's 2 September 13, 2008 08:31 AM