Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2012, 08:31 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default Hacker on HWC BF3 server

Hi, I just got on the HWC server to check it out and there was that guy called
hostiletakeover..

He was moving in a really fast kneeling/sliding motion, no leg movement, it reminded me of the Quake 4 power slide trick...this is not a normal movement in the game, was he hacking? or was he using some sort of controller (joystick, gamepad) or a hack?

Anyway, I wanted to let an admin know....
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2012, 09:07 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,122

My System Specs

Default

I sent the server admins a message on the IRC channel. For future reference, PM headsh0t or supaflyx3 as they are the ones running it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2012, 09:23 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,549

My System Specs

Default

I was playing earlier and i didn't see any issues to it, I'll look in to it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2012, 10:40 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

Stats & Progression - hostiletake0v3r - Battlelog / Battlefield 3

Looks pretty legit to me, 122 score per min is pretty low.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2012, 10:45 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

8.3% accuracy!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2012, 12:07 AM
bob saget's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Van City
Posts: 65
Default

its a bug in the game. happens sometimes.
__________________
~mmorpg-free since 1998~BFBC2 Stats~
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2012, 04:33 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
its a bug in the game. happens sometimes.
It could be...at least if we get to see this weird stuff happening again, coming from that guy or another, we'll be able to related to it...

That was pretty handy, cause the dude could cover a few positions lightning fast....

We'll see, time will tell!

Thx HWC for supporting BF3!
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2012, 06:36 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rocky Mountain House
Posts: 837

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delavan View Post
It could be...at least if we get to see this weird stuff happening again, coming from that guy or another, we'll be able to related to it...

That was pretty handy, cause the dude could cover a few positions lightning fast....

We'll see, time will tell!

Thx HWC for supporting BF3!
I've seen that too, and also had it happen to me.
It's a bug. Wish I knew how to re-create it though! Scooting all over the map like that would be handy!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2012, 09:35 PM
bob saget's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Van City
Posts: 65
Default

you saw it in your killcam or when you haven't spawned yet right? has to do with the character figure lagging, and then scooting across to get to where it is actually is. at least when i saw it. i have never seen it ingame, but usually either in killcam or spawn screen.
__________________
~mmorpg-free since 1998~BFBC2 Stats~
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2012, 07:39 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rocky Mountain House
Posts: 837

My System Specs

Default

I've seen it both ingame and in killcam.
Lag seems to be a likely explanation
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hacker Group Anonymous Vows To Destroy Facebook On November 5 headsh0t Off Topic 33 November 17, 2011 01:16 PM
WIP Home File Server - Modding Rack mount Server Chassis CoolHandL Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 24 December 22, 2010 12:37 PM
My 7 years old son is a hacker MarkOne Off Topic 44 March 27, 2010 10:09 PM
Hacker Spaces Chilly Off Topic 2 May 24, 2009 09:34 AM
Alleged Carleton hacker faces criminal charges jay51 Off Topic 5 September 13, 2008 11:43 AM