Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2011, 05:55 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default one of DICE's dumbest BF3 mistakes

In BC2 from start position(MAIN WEAPON)
-mouse wheel UP brought up the "hand gun"
-mouse wheel DOWN lead to "other things"


IN BF3(for me unless I'm missing something vital)

in BF3 from start position(MAIN WEAPON)
-mouse wheel UP does "NOTHING"
-mouse wheel DOWN leads to "all the rest"

HOW CAN DICE BE THAT STUPID????????????????????????????

it was perfect in BC2, why did they GARBAGE IT ???????????????????????????

I must complain directly, they'll ignore it, but lots of us must complain against this stupidity
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2011, 06:12 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

??? Scrolling down pulls out your hand gun, and then continues to scroll through your inventory as it's placed on the keyboard;

#1 - Primary
#2 - Secondary
#3 - Gadget
#4 - Gadget
#5 - Grenade
#6 - Knife

This was different in Bad Company 2 because your primary weapon was actually #2 and hand gun was #1. In Battlefield 3 it is opposite, and of course you will want to spawn with your primary in hand. I prefer the primary being #1 on the keyboard, as that's where games usually have it. It actually took me a while to get used to that in Bad Company 2, and then they go and change it on me :P
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2011, 06:16 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 878
Default

I like BF3s method better too.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2011, 06:43 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default

starting with 'wheel up" doing NOTHING is a complete and foolish waste

for those with simple mice and few buttons, [wheel up] to handgun is a life saver

Dice starts you by making [wheel up] DO NOTHING

I don't understand DICE wasting a button, how can they be that stupid, and for those that don't get it....whats not to get?!?
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2011, 07:01 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

Oh I get what you're saying. Did you read my post? If you are that concerned about getting your hand gun out quick why not just wheel down? You can also bind mouse wheel up to Select Secondary Weapon and mouse wheel down to Select Primary Weapon if you wanted, but of course you can't scroll through the rest of your inventory if you bind it like that.

Mad 'cause bad?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2011, 03:27 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

This is how BF2 worked, obviously its going to be like that and not BFBC2.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2011, 05:12 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

Sorry but scrolling to select a weapon is the most fail way to do it. Hit the numbers, they are always accurate and you will actually have the weapon you intended to! I can't remember the last time I used a scroll wheel for anything useful in a game.

Edit: It's useful for in-game web browsers on steam/origin!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2012, 08:57 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,936

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMCD View Post
Sorry but scrolling to select a weapon is the most fail way to do it. Hit the numbers, they are always accurate and you will actually have the weapon you intended to! I can't remember the last time I used a scroll wheel for anything useful in a game.

Edit: It's useful for in-game web browsers on steam/origin!
Quoted for truth. I used to use mouse wheel but found it way too frustrating. It is not only quicker to hit a number button it is more accurate. Not to mention your finger never leaves the left mouse button which could be fatal.

In most FPS's I bind mouse wheel to other things.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2012, 09:08 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMCD View Post
I can't remember the last time I used a scroll wheel for anything useful in a game.
scroll fire dualies in CS to piss people off. That's about it
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2012, 03:36 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,936

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackquelegs View Post
scroll fire dualies in CS to piss people off. That's about it
Thats what I use for the flashlight for the same reason.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dumbest Thing You've Read Lately Bean Counter Off Topic 19 November 22, 2010 03:56 PM
*56K No* Phenom II X6 DICE Run Slappa Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 October 15, 2010 01:52 PM
[WTB] Cpu Dice Pot micul Buy/Sell & Trade 0 August 2, 2010 04:39 PM
LN2/Dice pots gingerbee Off Topic 6 June 17, 2010 01:16 PM
Dumbest things your dog has done... stoanee Off Topic 35 January 27, 2010 05:41 PM