Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 02:55 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,081

My System Specs

Default Verticle sync...do you enable it?

As the title states, do you ever enable vertical sync?

I just installed my source games after installing windows 7 (finally) and I am getting 150-200 fps. I enabled verticle sync and it is stable at a constant 59-60fps. I didn't notice any problems. It is something I have never used before, so I am unfamiliar of pros and cons of it (though I understand what it does). Do you ever use it? Any comments you can make on it? pros/cons?
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 03:07 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

unless you have a 120hz monitor your monitor being 60hz can only effectively show 60fps and the rest get discarded
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 03:34 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 159

My System Specs

Default

Having a lower end LCD monitor myself I usually have it enabled.

The only times I don't is with games that tend to drop below 60fps more often than not(metro 2033 for example). IIRC when they drop below 60fps, if you are hitting 50fps having v-sync on drops that to 30fps... It's a pretty jarring effect.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 04:05 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

yup i do
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 05:15 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,557

My System Specs

Default

Yes.

Why?

This is why: AnandTech - Triple Buffering: Why We Love It
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 06:27 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 107

My System Specs

Default

I leave it turned off to get a better sense of how well my system is handling the game. If the FPS counter is up at 300 then I know that my system is handling it well and I can turn on a bunch more of the advanced graphics options. With VSync on and an fps of 60, I don't know whether my system is managing that framerate easily or just barely.

Maybe I'm lucky or maybe I just don't know what to look for, but I've never had problems with tearing.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 08:50 PM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

I never enable it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 10:24 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,418

My System Specs

Default

I find it adds quite a big of lag on some games, others don't seem to be affected by it as much. Honestly I never enable it because I don't see any visual difference. I do notice the difference in delay though.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2011, 07:28 AM
Jebusman's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 358

My System Specs

Default

I've never had any problems with V-Sync, but I normally only enable it after running the game without it to make sure it can actually handle running 60FPS or more so it doesn't drop back down to 30.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2011, 08:05 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,602

My System Specs

Default

I never run it, its typically more advantageous for those with lower end systems (video cards) to help keep frame rates at a decent value. On higher end system you're wasting frames (least how I've seen it)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Browser Sync. Silvgearx O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 November 20, 2011 10:05 PM
Should I Enable Turbo Mode on my i7 930? bvsbutthd101 CPU's and Motherboards 13 August 25, 2010 09:04 AM
Do I have to enable something to get 7200RPM? C_O_N Storage 9 July 22, 2009 11:23 PM
Threaded Optimization - Enable/Disable/Auto? encorp Video Cards 2 July 26, 2008 07:39 PM
How to enable Crossfire in Crysis Demo! Killswitch Gaming 3 November 16, 2007 07:58 PM