Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #81 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2013, 04:30 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: France
Posts: 92

My System Specs

Default

Hey guys ! I wanna change my backspace hotkey to the space bar (for Zerg games...) and the game tells me it's not "blizzard approved" or something like that... What does it means ? Would i still be able to play on the ladder ? Why Blizzard gives you a warning like that ?? Thanks !
Reply With Quote
  #82 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2013, 05:40 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,570

My System Specs

Default

Not sure, but a lot of games these days really messed up the key bindings or rather, lack thereof. Hi Dead Space 2. I guess in their infinite wisdom devs think they know better than the user what buttons should do what. Even in Bioshock Infinite the enter key is locked out.
Reply With Quote
  #83 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2013, 07:28 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: France
Posts: 92

My System Specs

Default

Well i don't think it's locked... they just warn you... so i'd like to know if it's safe to do it...
Reply With Quote
  #84 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2013, 10:00 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 412
Default

I think you may have misread. Basically the standard blizzard profiles can't be changed, so you gotta make a new profile for your custom keys.
Otherwise, I've never seen that message before.
Reply With Quote
  #85 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2013, 10:12 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: France
Posts: 92

My System Specs

Default

Yes you're right, but would changing that profile would change me ladder profile ?? I level 80... :(
EDIT: and that's why i'm scared to change the settings !
But i thought pro players, sometimes, change keys...
Reply With Quote
  #86 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2013, 10:29 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,602

My System Specs

Default

I still need to get around to finishing the campaign, nothing like all sorts of school and life distractions
Reply With Quote
  #87 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2013, 05:02 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: France
Posts: 92

My System Specs

Default

so anyone know if that's okay to change keys ?
Reply With Quote
  #88 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2013, 05:07 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 412
Default

Dude, it'd would be absolutely retarded if you couldn't freely change your hotkeys any time you want.
Reply With Quote
  #89 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2013, 07:05 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,228

My System Specs

Default

hotkey profiles are stored on blizzards "cloud" and allow access from any computer logged into your account. They have no impact on your ladder profile and you can swap between them as needed (i.e. have one for custom games, then swap back to your ladder key-bindings)... I don't know how you could be thinking that adding a new hotkey profile would change your ladder rankings...
Reply With Quote
  #90 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2013, 11:44 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: France
Posts: 92

My System Specs

Default

Well i know it could seems stupid... but the Blizzard message was pretty awkward ! Besides, it could have been only a specific key settings that was allowed on the ladder...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
StarCraft 2 is just too good :) draemn Gaming 16 March 29, 2011 08:05 PM
Acer Heart to Custom Game PC r0k0 New Builds 0 March 22, 2011 06:29 PM
New free game on Steam - Alien Swarm (July 19) NaX Gaming 21 July 28, 2010 11:38 AM
Valve Releases Completely Free Alien Swarm Game FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 20 July 20, 2010 02:02 PM
StarCraft 2 Airshehan Gaming 16 September 8, 2009 12:44 PM