Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2011, 12:43 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: MTL
Posts: 82

My System Specs

Default BAttlefield 3 low FPS - Need advice

guys i need some feedback...I started playing the beta without the updated drivers and was only getting 20 to 30 fps. I built my new pc tobe able to max outthe games i play bf3 d3 and sc2 so i wasnt happy. Then i went searching and found the new drivers I installed them and had a great couple of games getting 50 to 60 outside the metro and 70 to high 80s. Here's where something weird happens... the next day i play again and notice that my frames are now 30 to 40 outside and 40 to max 50 in the metro!

I havent changed anything... I tried reloading the drivers and no luck. Any feedback guys?

My setup is:

2500k @ 4.5
gskill 8gb 1600 9-9-9-24
asus p8z68
asus 6950 2gb flashed to 6970 at 880/1350
resolution is 1080p
hdd is a 7300k hitachi deskstar

After checked the other threads i noticed that lots of ppl are running the game with 50fps consistently on lower end pcs.

Also i checked the following link provided in the specs thread for bf3:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...hl=en_US#gid=2

and it seems many ppl are getting over 60-70 fps with my setup.... is there anything I should do to optimize my setup?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2011, 12:50 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

For me a restart or a setting change and game restart fixes degrading fps, at one point this weekend I was dropping to sub 30 fps in the open area of metro.
For me it seams completely random, fps's are fine then all of a sudden they start dropping, it isnt server lag or some crap because clan mates fps's are perfectly fine.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2011, 02:56 PM
Apathetik's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tobin Lake, SK
Posts: 302

My System Specs

Default

Reinstall the beta drivers for BF3, restart (even though you aren't told to) then check a different server. Believe it or not, some servers can run worse then others frame wise. Especially if its hosted on poor equipment.
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2011, 06:54 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
For me a restart or a setting change and game restart fixes degrading fps, at one point this weekend I was dropping to sub 30 fps in the open area of metro.
For me it seams completely random, fps's are fine then all of a sudden they start dropping, it isnt server lag or some crap because clan mates fps's are perfectly fine.
Same for me. I was running perfect one day, next day tons of framerate issues. I didn't change the settings. It's just buggy.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battlefield 3 headsh0t Gaming 1868 May 30, 2014 08:54 PM
Battlefield 3 Build Help? Hills New Builds 17 September 3, 2011 04:50 PM
Is my PC Battlefield 3 ready ? botat29 Gaming 14 March 29, 2011 10:43 AM
Battlefield: Bad Company 2... anyone? somecanadianguy Gaming 9 October 26, 2010 05:35 PM
Battlefield Heroes enaberif Gaming 22 March 22, 2009 03:25 PM