Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #621 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2011, 05:24 AM
Meta|Gear's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yyz_guy View Post
I got my beta key but I get the "an error has occured with your setup please reinstall"

Downloaded it twice from origin and still nothing not sure if it's my rig or the game

I'm running
Q6600
4gb ram
Gtx260 (216)
Vista

It's weak but should run BF3
hit ctrl alt del, open task manager, kill EAProxyInstaller, then continue the update
__________________
RFD

Intel i5 2500K | Corsair H50 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H | 16GB G.Skill Sniper 1600Mhz | Gigabyte Windforce 670 OC | Antec Gamer 900W | 24" Asus VW246H
Reply With Quote
  #622 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2011, 06:02 AM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cambridge, ON
Posts: 21

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yyz_guy View Post
I got my beta key but I get the "an error has occured with your setup please reinstall"

Downloaded it twice from origin and still nothing not sure if it's my rig or the game

I'm running
Q6600
4gb ram
Gtx260 (216)
Vista

It's weak but should run BF3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meta|Gear View Post
hit ctrl alt del, open task manager, kill EAProxyInstaller, then continue the update
This was a huge issue on the EA forums, seems to be mainly Vista for most people with issues. Make sure you meet the minimum requirements.

Minimum System Requirements
OS: Windows Vista (Service Pack 2) 32-Bit <------------
Processor: 2 GHz Dual Core (Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHZ or Althon X2 2.7 GHz)
Memory: 2 GB
Hard Drive: 20 GB
Graphics Card (AMD): DirectX 10.1 compatible with 512 MB RAM (ATI RADEON 3000, 4000, 5000 OR 6000 series, with ATI RADEON 3870 or higher performance)
Graphics Card (NVIDIA): DirectX 10.0 compatible with 512 MB RAM (NVIDIA GEFORCE 8, 9, 200, 300, 400 OR 500 series with NVIDIA GEFORCE 8800 GT or higher performance)
Sound card : DirectX compatible
Keyboard and Mouse
DVD ROM Drive
Reply With Quote
  #623 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2011, 07:38 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

Origins seems to be flawless so far... heh
Reply With Quote
  #624 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2011, 07:40 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
As Supa and I were disscussing in irc it would help the ppl posting "can i run bf3", threads if we compiled a list of what fps ppl are getting with there hardware and res.
It would be better if a thread was dedicated to that, and to force people to post only specs and results in that thread. No discussion, only hard numbers.

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...i-run-bf3.html

Win 7 64bit
8gb ram (average of 1gb used by game)
2500K @ 4.2ghz
gtx 260 core 216 slightly overclocked
19201200
Medium settings
Average 60fps


Win 7 64bit
8gb ram (average of 1gb used by game)
2500K @ 4.2ghz
gtx 260 core 216 stock settings
19201200
35fps on Medium settings, 60 fps on low

Last edited by blaze_125; September 28, 2011 at 07:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #625 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2011, 07:51 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,755
Default

Starting to get a little pissed off, still no key, and 3rd attempt at getting Origin/EA live help. All in all over 7 hours of waiting for a help representative. Why did I pre-order?
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #626 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2011, 08:28 AM
On2wheels's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,010
Default

Adjustable field of view is awesome. All those settings really do make it seem like a true pc game. Will post results in the other thread tomorrow.

i read you need to allow Origin to launch your browser to let you launch the game? Is that right? Could theey have made it any more convoluted? FFS

Last edited by On2wheels; September 28, 2011 at 11:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #627 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2011, 09:02 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by On2wheels View Post
Adjustable field of view is awesome.
When you can use it.
Reply With Quote
  #628 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2011, 09:37 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sudbury, ON
Posts: 110

My System Specs

Default

We should get a platoon going. ANyone interested?
__________________
SOLD:
Tritton AX Pro (mchutch)
Logitech Harmony 520 (Phill)
Reply With Quote
  #629 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2011, 10:04 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,755
Default

Got through after 8 hours of waiting for Origin Live Help! Alot of good that did me :

Jarrod:
I thank you for your patients.
Jarrod:
We do not have any codes at this moment.
Jarrod:
I do apologize.
Jarrod:
But we are getting more.,
Jarrod:
Please if you can check back with us through out the day and your email and you should be getting one.


THANKS EA! (sarcasm....)
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #630 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2011, 12:24 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Esotericrj View Post
This was a huge issue on the EA forums, seems to be mainly Vista for most people with issues. Make sure you meet the minimum requirements.

Minimum System Requirements
OS: Windows Vista (Service Pack 2) 32-Bit <------------
Processor: 2 GHz Dual Core (Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHZ or Althon X2 2.7 GHz)
Memory: 2 GB
Hard Drive: 20 GB
Graphics Card (AMD): DirectX 10.1 compatible with 512 MB RAM (ATI RADEON 3000, 4000, 5000 OR 6000 series, with ATI RADEON 3870 or higher performance)
Graphics Card (NVIDIA): DirectX 10.0 compatible with 512 MB RAM (NVIDIA GEFORCE 8, 9, 200, 300, 400 OR 500 series with NVIDIA GEFORCE 8800 GT or higher performance)
Sound card : DirectX compatible
Keyboard and Mouse
DVD ROM Drive
Thanks installing SP2, never did it, Vista is such garbage I figured it would only make it worse

Hopefully this fixes it
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battlefield Bad Company 2 HaDeS Gaming 732 July 24, 2010 06:10 PM
Giving away 10% off coupon on Battlefield BC 2 MrDiaz Gaming 4 May 11, 2010 01:22 PM
Battlefield Heroes artistpavel Gaming 4 July 11, 2009 01:03 PM
Battlefield Heroes enaberif Gaming 22 March 22, 2009 04:25 PM