Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 11:41 AM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default Episodes For Liberty City

So I just got the Grand Theft Auto 4 Complete Edition from today's Steam Daily sale,
thinking that since I already have Grand Theft Auto, I could just use the Episodes For Liberty City Key
on my already existing copy of GTA 4, and I would receive the extra GTA 4 in gift form.

When I bought it, it instead appeared as a seperate game in my library called Grand Theft Auto: Episodes for Liberty City. When I click install, it says that it takes up 16gb. That means that it is a seperate copy of GTA 4 that it wants to install. Now I am stuck with two copies of GTA 4 >.<

Is there a way to un install my current, and make it a gift, or transfer it onto another account? Or like 'split' the EFLC from the GTA 4 in the copy I just bought?

Thanks in advance.
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 12:32 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

No.



Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 12:36 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

Shit.



__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 10:25 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,950

My System Specs

Default

Only some games it works. Really depends on the developer but in this case nope.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2010, 12:05 AM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

Ehh whatever, it was only 10 bucks.
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2011, 10:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 25
Default

Likely no, but have you gone into the steam folder system to see if you can copy some of the contents of one game into another? I know a lot of games are held in some bizarre single file storage, but I believe that some are still held in normal folders.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2011, 11:32 PM
Technokat's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London Ontario
Posts: 517

My System Specs

Default

it usually says right when you are on the purchase screen "Warning, you already own X game, if you buy this you will NOT be able to gift the duplicate copy"
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2011, 11:55 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

It actually never game me a warning. But apparently some people on the Steam forums that day who also had GTA 4 already and wanted to purchase the complete edition, COULDN'T buy it. Like Steam wouldn't let them. So it's pretty weird.
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 05:26 AM
On2wheels's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,003
Default

FYI: tonight there is a Rockstar event where you can play with the devs, it's EFLC only, there's info at the social club site. I'll be on, it's usually a full server for a few hours, and they change up the game mode a few times. 5-8pm EST.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty headsh0t Gaming 294 November 4, 2012 03:53 PM
Batman: Arkham City Full Speed Gaming 29 December 26, 2011 05:47 PM
hmm, what to do in toronto city? Silvgearx Off Topic 22 July 30, 2009 06:07 PM
Enermax Liberty 620watts+8800GTS atari1980 Power Supplies 10 May 5, 2008 04:36 PM
Microsoft to Pay $50 Million for Exclusive Grand Theft Auto Episodes Babrbarossa Gaming 3 August 7, 2007 07:19 PM