Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #441 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2012, 08:59 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,591

My System Specs

Default

Did you play fallout 3 or NV? If you liked it, you'll like skyrim. If you didn't, then I can't say you will
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #442 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2012, 09:30 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,082

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by On2wheels View Post
Seeing the physics glitches and fighting mechanics of this game, I don't know that I'd ever be interested in it. Is it really that bad?
Skyrim's Craziest Mods and Glitches - PC News at IGN

Now it is not that bad. It really is a great game and yes while it does have its share of glitches it is still very much worth it. Just the shear size of the game is amazing. I have played many many hours of it and haven't hit any truly game killing glitches. Sure the odd thing happens but nothing that really breaks the game.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #443 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2012, 05:16 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default

just a thought on something foolish in skyrim

the 1st mages college mission to 'sarrthal??' right next door to the college, the instructor Tolifer?? talks of how all that stuff there is new to them and they don't know anything about it, I mean the basic stuff in there not even the orb thing, yet they've been living right next door for centuries, so what is it the 1st crypt they ever explored??

Also very funny is to use the freeze solid thum on him and the 3 students in the 1st class at college, they all fall over frozen solid and don't care or say anything, looks funny
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p
Reply With Quote
  #444 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2012, 12:36 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default

with my new crossfire working I can turn the view detail distance to max, looks a lot better

2x6950 is overpowered for skyrim, soon I'll try some of the hi-res mods, should be fun
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p
Reply With Quote
  #445 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2012, 12:45 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,261

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TedShackley View Post
with my new crossfire working I can turn the view detail distance to max, looks a lot better

2x6950 is overpowered for skyrim, soon I'll try some of the hi-res mods, should be fun
Running 26970's @ 1ghz and 2600k @ 4.9 and tbh my card hardly break a sweat other than memory size.
Ted it is a totally different game modded.

Head over to skyrimnexus and grab the mod manager , 2k is a must have and loving the cbbe :)

I run 35 mods so far and try out the new files almost everyday, there is some awesome visual mods that sometime dont get the attention they should.

Anyway completely different game visually once you get it going.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #446 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2012, 01:04 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
Running 26970's @ 1ghz and 2600k @ 4.9 and tbh my card hardly break a sweat other than memory size.
Ted it is a totally different game modded.

Head over to skyrimnexus and grab the mod manager , 2k is a must have and loving the cbbe :)

I run 35 mods so far and try out the new files almost everyday, there is some awesome visual mods that sometime dont get the attention they should.

Anyway completely different game visually once you get it going.
when I have time in 2 days I'll try, but right now, my 57level cat game just seems to have gotten messed up

noticed that using 'life detect' spell used NO magic, and switched to expensive 'thunderbolt' dual spell, it used magic, but while holding it active, my magic regenerated to full, at an insane rate

I was wearing archery gear, nothing for magic bonus

something has gone completely wrong with that save, going to try my >15 level wood elf game and hope its not screwed


edit: I went back to an early save on the 57lvl game, fixed problem

the only strange thing that happened before all that was I slide/fell down a long ways, expected to die normally, but ended up entering into the cave I was heading to, with a bit of health left, but I expected to die from that fall
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p

Last edited by TedShackley; January 10, 2012 at 01:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #447 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2012, 08:31 AM
Jebusman's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 358

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TedShackley View Post
when I have time in 2 days I'll try, but right now, my 57level cat game just seems to have gotten messed up

noticed that using 'life detect' spell used NO magic, and switched to expensive 'thunderbolt' dual spell, it used magic, but while holding it active, my magic regenerated to full, at an insane rate

I was wearing archery gear, nothing for magic bonus
The exact same thing has happened to me twice now, but it wasn't a bug. It was actually an active effect. Fortify Magic +100%. I know you get it from the magic school when you do the "Cleanse the 3 wells" side quest, and you might get it from other places as well. It essentially makes you the most boss wizard ever for about 2 hours. Pretty broken considering, but it's a one time thing, and wears off eventually.
Reply With Quote
  #448 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2012, 04:46 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 107

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TedShackley View Post
when I have time in 2 days I'll try, but right now, my 57level cat game just seems to have gotten messed up

noticed that using 'life detect' spell used NO magic, and switched to expensive 'thunderbolt' dual spell, it used magic, but while holding it active, my magic regenerated to full, at an insane rate

I was wearing archery gear, nothing for magic bonus

something has gone completely wrong with that save, going to try my >15 level wood elf game and hope its not screwed


edit: I went back to an early save on the 57lvl game, fixed problem

the only strange thing that happened before all that was I slide/fell down a long ways, expected to die normally, but ended up entering into the cave I was heading to, with a bit of health left, but I expected to die from that fall
I actually had a similiar issue. I used alchemy to brew some restore magicka potions and didn't realize at first that they also had a ravage magicka effect on them. After drinking about 15 of them in a row my magicka regeneration rate went through the roof. I'm not certain exactly why but I theorize that the ravage magicka effect sent my magicka regeneration rate so low that it overflowed into the positive. The effect also somehow got "stuck" on my character - it was visible in the active effects tab and wouldn't go away.

To solve it I removed all my other magical items and then used the player.DispelAllSpells console command.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #449 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2012, 05:16 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 880
Default

How do you know if your poisoned?
Reply With Quote
  #450 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2012, 06:58 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,261

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chromey View Post
How do you know if your poisoned?
You should have a green cast to you and/or magic/active effects any negative conditions will show as red.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes