Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #181 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2011, 09:05 AM
bradleyg5's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somecanadianguy View Post
Just got my hands on Skyrim last night.
As in Oblivion, Morrowind... a couple tweaks to the .ini file makes things look a lot better...

C:\Users\<username>\Documents\My Games\Skyrim\SkyrimPrefs.ini (make a copy before editing)

Change the following to 1:
bTreesReceiveShadows=0
bDrawLandShadows=0

There's lots to mess with in that file, but those two have a noticible impact on the visuals.


Also, if you have an nvidia card you can enable AO with nvidia inspector.

Ambient Occlusion Compatibility - default "0x0000000", change to "0x00000003 (Fallout 3)
Ambient Occlusion setting - default "Off", change to "Quality"
Ambient Occlusion usage - default "Disabled", change to "Enabled"


I don't understand the AO with nvidia inspector, where do I put that? Nvidia inspector appears to just be GPUZ with an overclocking tool
Reply With Quote
  #182 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2011, 09:07 AM
bradleyg5's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 60
Default

never mind, figured out to go into drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #183 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2011, 09:18 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Sorry for leaving that part out...


Here's some other .ini tweaks I'm using:

[Display]
iMultiSample=4
iMaxAnisotropy=16
bTransparencyMultisampling=1
iWaterMultiSamples=3
iBlurDeferredShadowMask=2

[Grass]
b30GrassVS=1

[Particles]
iMaxDesired=900


Still messing around with the .ini, but so far the game looks way better than it did when I first installed.
Now if they'd just release the construction set I'd be really happy...

Last edited by somecanadianguy; November 18, 2011 at 09:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #184 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2011, 10:38 AM
bradleyg5's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 60
Default

Just did all that. Looks awesome the shadows are weird when you inspect them on the characters, but when everything is in motion running around the world it looks amazing.
Reply With Quote
  #185 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2011, 11:36 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,484

My System Specs

Default

Apparently if your game crashes its nVidia sound issues, somehow. If you set your sound to 24 bit 48kHz via windows it should fix it...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #186 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2011, 12:38 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

i was crashing pretty frequently, but then i installed a mod that allowed the game to use more than 2gb of ram, no more crashes at all.
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #187 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2011, 12:53 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,484

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianHanna View Post
i was crashing pretty frequently, but then i installed a mod that allowed the game to use more than 2gb of ram, no more crashes at all.
I googled it up: Skyrim 4GB Tutorial at Skyrim Nexus - Skyrim Mods and community to save others time
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #188 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2011, 02:35 PM
bradleyg5's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 60
Default

is there any advantage beyond avoiding crashes with the 4GB mod?
Reply With Quote
  #189 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2011, 02:39 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleyg5 View Post
Just did all that. Looks awesome the shadows are weird when you inspect them on the characters, but when everything is in motion running around the world it looks amazing.


Not sure about the weird shadows on characters. Mine seem to look ok, but maybe I just have to look closer. I do get some issues with terrain shadows, but don't know if it's from the tweaks or not as I haven't bothered to check the same areas with default .ini file. Did you set AO to 'Quality'? Maybe try 'High Quality'.


*edit*
I forgot about these...

iShadowFilter=4
fShadowLODStartFade=1000.0000



Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
I was about to post the same thing. I haven't done it yet, but it worked ok with Oblivion.

Last edited by somecanadianguy; November 18, 2011 at 03:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #190 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2011, 04:01 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,055

My System Specs

Default

Hey anyone that has done the more than 2GB memory tweak, can you let me know how much memory it is using now that you have done it?

I ask because I used a difference memory mod (same idea, just different way of getting there) and according to task manager it was only using just under 1GB for me.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes