Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2007, 12:56 PM
Canadianguy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 81
Question Widescreen Question?

I finally got this to run in full screen.Just want to know if I have this right,reason i'm asking is because i have no black bars at top,bottom and sides without using the 1.40 fixer.That people talk about.

-Using nividia scale keep aspect ratio.
-1680x1050 res
- video con file is 800x600@60hz
-settings in game are 800x600@60hz

Just wonderd why no black bars?
The Hud is suppose to be a little oval in widescreen.



Does this look like kept aspect ratio or just stretched?Looks fine to me?

Need Opinions

Thanks
__________________
P4 - 3.0 HT
Acer 223w 22"
XFX 7600GT 256 DDR3 AGP,ATI 650HD TV
Asus - P4S800
Kingston 2G 3200 DDR
Western Digital 80G,Segate 200G
X-FI Extreme Music,Logetic X-530
Thermaltake TR2-430w
XP Pro
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2007, 01:05 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,580
Default

Its stretched a WEEEE bit.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2007, 01:20 PM
Canadianguy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 81
Default

So it doesn't look like its suppose to in widescreen.

Any suggestions?
__________________
P4 - 3.0 HT
Acer 223w 22"
XFX 7600GT 256 DDR3 AGP,ATI 650HD TV
Asus - P4S800
Kingston 2G 3200 DDR
Western Digital 80G,Segate 200G
X-FI Extreme Music,Logetic X-530
Thermaltake TR2-430w
XP Pro
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2007, 01:22 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,580
Default

what game is that?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2007, 01:29 PM
Canadianguy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 81
Default

Oh sorry,BF2.
__________________
P4 - 3.0 HT
Acer 223w 22"
XFX 7600GT 256 DDR3 AGP,ATI 650HD TV
Asus - P4S800
Kingston 2G 3200 DDR
Western Digital 80G,Segate 200G
X-FI Extreme Music,Logetic X-530
Thermaltake TR2-430w
XP Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2007, 02:06 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Default

Modify the shortcut to


"C:\Program Files\EA Games\Battlefield 2\BF2.exe" +menu 1 +fullscreen 1 +szx 1680 +szy 1050

If you change video settings though in Bf2 it will switch to the resolution in the video menu, so you'll have to exit and re-enter BF2 to go back to widescreen.
__________________
Mobo: MSI i875P MS-6758
CPU: P4 Northwood
RAM: 2x512mb Kingston
GPU: 6600GT 128MB AGP
Monitor: Gem GM-170B 17"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2007, 02:11 PM
Canadianguy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 81
Default

It is modified......"C:\Battlefield 2\BF2.exe" +menu 1 +widescreen 1 +szx 1680 +szy 1050....to this
__________________
P4 - 3.0 HT
Acer 223w 22"
XFX 7600GT 256 DDR3 AGP,ATI 650HD TV
Asus - P4S800
Kingston 2G 3200 DDR
Western Digital 80G,Segate 200G
X-FI Extreme Music,Logetic X-530
Thermaltake TR2-430w
XP Pro
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2007, 04:04 PM
Spaceman-Spiff's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: burnaby.bc.ca
Posts: 355
Default

As far as I know, there's no official support for widescreen in BF2. The fix above does stretch the screen. However, someone posted a hack at widescreengamingforum website:
- Solution: Battlefield 2 ... various fixes ... (bottom of page)
- Multi-Game Widescreen Fixer
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2007, 05:21 PM
Canadianguy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 81
Default

i know there is no official supportSo what fix do i you use this one you posted or the one I have .Which is version 1.40 widescreen fixer.I read to it's better to use older versions of the fixer.
__________________
P4 - 3.0 HT
Acer 223w 22"
XFX 7600GT 256 DDR3 AGP,ATI 650HD TV
Asus - P4S800
Kingston 2G 3200 DDR
Western Digital 80G,Segate 200G
X-FI Extreme Music,Logetic X-530
Thermaltake TR2-430w
XP Pro
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2007, 06:23 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,881

My System Specs

Default

I just used the shortcut "hack" on BF2142. Looks fine to me.

That little program though looks rather interesting...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to change aspect ratio for widescreen bobaban Troubleshooting 5 July 16, 2010 04:39 PM
Widescreen and avi files? bobaban Display Units 0 November 23, 2007 03:06 PM
Widescreen or not?for od comp NoobLordSpud Display Units 6 July 8, 2007 10:05 AM
Widescreen MP4 Player Watch Shadowed Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 April 18, 2007 10:18 PM