Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2010, 07:00 PM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 541

My System Specs

Default Help playing Need for Speed on second monitor

So here's my set up: Running 2 monitors off a single gtx480. One is a 21.5" , the other a 32" hdtv. The displays are "extended" with the smaller as the primary with desktop. I don't game all that much, but I do use the smaller monitor for games like Civ5, and the tv for racing/driving games that I've played with a wireless xbox for windows controller.

And the problem: I've been able to play F1 2010, Dirt2, Blur etc. by running in windowed mode, dragging the window over to the larger display and then maximizing /fullscreening it. Cannot figure out how to do it with NFS Hot Pursuit. I have managed to find a patch that lets you run less than full screen, but the game still launches on the smaller display and is not really windowed; in that it can't be dragged over.

Any suggestions?
__________________
_______________________________________________

HWC Overclocking Team, breaking hardware for fun!

Team Thread
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2010, 07:06 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,565

My System Specs

Default

Short of setting the 32" to primary display? Not that I can think of, if the game won't let you.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2010, 07:10 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G777 View Post
So here's my set up: Running 2 monitors off a single gtx480. One is a 21.5" , the other a 32" hdtv. The displays are "extended" with the smaller as the primary with desktop. I don't game all that much, but I do use the smaller monitor for games like Civ5, and the tv for racing/driving games that I've played with a wireless xbox for windows controller.

And the problem: I've been able to play F1 2010, Dirt2, Blur etc. by running in windowed mode, dragging the window over to the larger display and then maximizing /fullscreening it. Cannot figure out how to do it with NFS Hot Pursuit. I have managed to find a patch that lets you run less than full screen, but the game still launches on the smaller display and is not really windowed; in that it can't be dragged over.

Any suggestions?
Have you tried Alt-enter?
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2010, 07:17 PM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 541

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by headsh0t View Post
Short of setting the 32" to primary display? Not that I can think of, if the game won't let you.
Maybe it's just not possible.... changing the primary display would be easier, I keep unplugging the monitor to force it to run on the tv Usually switching primary displays makes my desktop go all wacky- that's just annoying.

And did try alt-enter, no luck
__________________
_______________________________________________

HWC Overclocking Team, breaking hardware for fun!

Team Thread
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EA to charge $10 for playing a used game. LaughingCrow Gaming 45 May 30, 2010 11:39 PM
Who's not playing F@H? badatcards Gaming 62 November 4, 2009 04:21 PM
Unauthorized Playing With Toys? fefox Off Topic 1 June 19, 2009 04:33 PM
You Know You've Been Playing Enough Team Fortress 2 When... shayan288 Off Topic 0 March 5, 2009 10:06 PM
Anyone playing AoC? Eldonko Gaming 127 July 25, 2008 09:25 PM