Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2010, 02:16 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default ATI questions RE: PhysX

Hey there,

I switched to ATI about a month ago, and I now have a 5970.
When I had my gtx 460, I was playing games that had high demand in physx like
Metro 2033, mafia 2, 3dmark vantage (not really a game but still), etc.
And now that I have a 5970, all those games dont work for me and when I try to one them
For eg. (Metro 2033) a get an error regarding me not having physx. I highly doubt that you NEED
a Nvidia card to play the games mentioned above ...

So far my experience with ATI has been absolutely HORRIBLE. I have had troubles with their drivers (as shown in a previous thread of mine, that was never really resolved), poor framerate despite how much I have paid for this GPU , and compatibility.

I am still getting poor frame rate in games that I should be killing, and a friend with a 5850 still gets higher frames that I do in a game called dead rising 2. For dead rising 2, I get 60-100 FPS without any AA or blur on, and as soon as I turn it on a bit, BOOM! 20-40 FPS >.<

So as you may be able to tell, I am seriously hating on ATI's driver support ATM (I would assume that this is lack of driver support seeing that others with my card, are having similar problems).

So yeah, if anyone has any solutions or suggestions for any of the problems above, that would be awesome. Sorry for the multiple troubleshooting threads for my 5970 over time. I guess it is just because this card creates new problems for me by the week.

Thanks in advance!

-s288
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2010, 02:21 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

You probably just need to turn Physx off in the games.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2010, 02:44 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

But the thing is that I can't open the game to turn the physx off in it.
However it looks like I can take Metro 2033 off the list of games that don't work with my new card.
Looks like my error was just a normal game error, and not a video card thing.
The Dead Rising 2 Anti Aliasing thing though is still a problem :(
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2010, 02:59 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

Sounds like a there are still leftover files from the Nvidia drivers left.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2010, 03:12 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,927

My System Specs

Default

You need to install the PhysX drivers.

NVIDIA DRIVERS 9.10.0513
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2010, 03:16 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

@jcmaz Yeah tried it before, I had wiped them clean with Driver Sweeper, and the problem still was there.

@lowfat Thanks man, I installed them, and now 3D Mark Vantage and Mafia 2 work.

Only problem I have so far is the whole Dead Rising 2 Anti Aliasing thing,
and also I was wondering if 86C average on load when playing a high standard game like bad company 2, is normal, and idling at around 55C. This is with the stock cooler, and on auto.
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2010, 03:17 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,715

My System Specs

Default

I am running a 9600GSO for physx along side my Radeon HD 3850 as my primary card. :) werksgud

I presume this link is up to date:
New Hybrid PhysX Mod 1.04ff is out | PhysXInfo.com - PhysX News
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2010, 03:20 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shayan288 View Post
. This is with the stock cooler, and on auto.
on auto my GTX 480 reach 95'c (happen once by mistake )
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2010, 03:37 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,883

My System Specs

Default

Temperatures seem fine.

And yes, certain games require NVIDIA cards to have AA. I believe Batman Akrum Asylum is another.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2010, 05:55 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
Akrum
Arkham...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI PhysX hybrid FreeKnight Video Cards 16 June 6, 2010 03:38 AM
PhysX question in ATI driven system... sertz Video Cards 14 May 9, 2010 06:49 PM
ATI + NVIDIA PhysX MarkOne Video Cards 18 January 17, 2010 05:54 PM
Nvidia PhysX Card, with ATI AmuseMe Video Cards 13 September 15, 2009 05:03 PM
PhysX with ATI? ToXic Video Cards 43 August 13, 2009 06:42 AM