Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 09:08 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,080

My System Specs

Thumbs up Civilization V pdf Manual Available

The manual is now available for all. Now I can read through it before I get the game.

CIVILIZATION V
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2010, 08:01 AM
TimTheEnchanter's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 841
Default

Sweet sutff, thanks.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2010, 08:25 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,768
Default

Honestly, the manual makes it look more complicated than it really is. I am about 8 hours into a small game (turn 313) and I am enjoying it. There are however some things that I can't believe the reviewers haven't picked up yet:

- The inability to stack units. If you have a worker beavering away on a project on a tile, and a military unit passes over it, the worker will stop what he is doing and move. VERY annoying

- At least on the press eval copy, the tutorials don't work

- VERY dumbed down diplomatic interface. It isn't any better than the Total War games.

- Tech tree. You can literally research everything within reach at even medium difficulty without any issue.


Anyways, I am enjoying it so far but I was hoping for an upwards evolution in the Civ franchise. Not something that has been dumbed down to make it more accessible.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2010, 10:58 AM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,950

My System Specs

Default

Thats not good news. Hopefully in the final game or shortly after there will be some patches. I personally like the idea of not stacking units but a worker should still be able to work when a military unit passes. It makes the battle system A LOT better to not have the one undefeatable stack of terror. You will now have battle lines and wars should now be more realistic.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2010, 12:10 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 56

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for sharing that!! I can't wait for Civ to come out! With all the new changes it looks like it will be awesome and i'm going crazy not being able to play it!!.. i have an itch.. thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2010, 01:08 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,768
Default

Let me know what else you want to know. ;)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2010, 04:42 PM
TimTheEnchanter's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 841
Default

Those are minor problems IMO Sky (maybe except the diplomatics). If they don't fix it, a modder will for sure.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2010, 05:09 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,768
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimTheEnchanter View Post
Those are minor problems IMO Sky (maybe except the diplomatics). If they don't fix it, a modder will for sure.
Minor problems that detract from the overall experience IMO. But in all reality, I love the game. Plays well on everything from a GTS 450 / HD 5750 all the way up....at 2560 x1600.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2010, 10:04 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,950

My System Specs

Default

Well Civilization never had that good of diplomacy to begin with. Still going backwards but not a huge issue.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 09:19 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,768
Default

I was actually going to post a GPU performance article but that's pointless considering the game plays well on EVERYTHING.

HD 5670 @ 2560 x 1600 + DX11 + no AA= NO PROBLEMO!!
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Version of Civilization V to Get? ipaine Gaming 34 September 21, 2010 08:21 AM
convert PDF to Word? grinder O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 September 10, 2010 10:27 AM
Civilization V Announced Full Speed Gaming 23 September 8, 2010 11:29 AM
Mirror Neurons - The Root of Civilization chrisk Off Topic 1 January 10, 2010 06:02 PM
Insanely Slow PDF? mattydies Troubleshooting 7 September 10, 2009 11:20 PM