Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2010, 11:04 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default Just beat Mafia 2....

So uhhh,
After a couple of hours, I have beaten Mafia 2 and for some reason, after the credits roll, it brings me to the main menu screen and then when I click on load story, it brings me back to the beginning of the last mission...
I was kinda hoping that I could roam Empire Bay as a badass mafioso dude who finished the story, but I guess not...? Is their something wrong on my end, or is that just the way the game is?
I unlocked the family album which should prove that I have beaten the story, but i just can't seem to be able to get back into the city for free roam...
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2010, 11:42 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,527

My System Specs

Default

From what I know (haven't played it yet) that's it. It is not a sandbox game, it is a linear story driven game, like a FPS, but in a sandbox style world. So when you're done, you're done. I found the demo pretty fun but I am going to wait till it's quite cheap before I buy it.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2010, 11:59 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

Yeah I guess the story was entertaining, but its pretty stupid how 2Kgames won't just let you roam Empire Bay, when you are done the story...
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 11:21 AM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,953

My System Specs

Default

Download the new DLC and you will love it. It is a lot of fun.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 11:48 AM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

Yeah, I saw it last night. It looked pretty cool.
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 11:50 AM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,343

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by belgolas View Post
Download the new DLC and you will love it. It is a lot of fun.
I found that entertaining. Barely 2 weeks after release and already they've started with the DLCs. But it does bring in the arcade mode play, adds 30 missions etc.


It really PO's me something fierce that they create a short (albiet relatively good) game and then expect people to pay $10 for a DLC, that in my opinion SHOULD have been part of the original game, and so shortly after release
People paid a good $50+ for the game and are then expected to shell out $10 more to bring the content level up to par with most other games.

If the plan was to release multiple DLCs, they should at least be charging a reduced rate (like $20-$30) for the original game, given that it was clearly only half a game (and the devs) intended it to be that.


Such a screwball money grabbing tactic.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 12:09 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,527

My System Specs

Default

That's why you wait for a Steam sale FiXT. I rarely buy games at full retail.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 01:03 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shayan288 View Post
So uhhh,
After a couple of hours, I have beaten Mafia 2 and for some reason, after the credits roll, it brings me to the main menu screen and then when I click on load story, it brings me back to the beginning of the last mission...
I was kinda hoping that I could roam Empire Bay as a badass mafioso dude who finished the story, but I guess not...? Is their something wrong on my end, or is that just the way the game is?
I unlocked the family album which should prove that I have beaten the story, but i just can't seem to be able to get back into the city for free roam...
Are you telling me that you got 2 - 3 hours total gameplay out of a full release version of a game? I'd be livid!!!! (Damn near frothing at the mouth just thinking about it and I didn't spend any money.... ;) ).

Even worse.... two weeks after a 2 - 3 hrs of gameplay release is out, they come up with a DLC release!?!?!?!? Definitely something that should have been included in the original release.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 01:28 PM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,343

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Are you telling me that you got 2 - 3 hours total gameplay out of a full release version of a game? I'd be livid!!!! (Damn near frothing at the mouth just thinking about it and I didn't spend any money.... ;) ).

Even worse.... two weeks after a 2 - 3 hrs of gameplay release is out, they come up with a DLC release!?!?!?!? Definitely something that should have been included in the original release.

It's roughly 10 hours +- depending on difficulty.
Part of the "problem" is a lot of that time is spent watching cinematics and driving. Actual "gaming" time is probably 2-3 hours worth.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 05:53 PM
r0bc's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AB
Posts: 688

My System Specs

Default

It took me 15.5 hrs on hardest setting, but acouple hrs of that was looking for nice cars.
Payed full price for the game and then got a free code from evga the next week .... pmo.
Downloaded the DLC yesterday but haven't had time to check it out yet.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mafia II demo crashes aviduser Gaming 9 August 17, 2010 03:58 PM
Beat Hazard Empty_Quarter Gaming 7 April 20, 2010 08:42 PM
Anyone Else addicted to Mafia Wars?? Dashock Off Topic 10 May 21, 2009 02:28 PM
Mafia II first look gameplay video Alwaysrun Gaming 0 April 27, 2009 05:07 PM
Encryption Beat! SimGamer Press Releases & Tech News 1 February 23, 2008 10:59 AM