Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2010, 04:42 AM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,714
Default

by god, my hand hurts, its all cramped and everything. AND ITS 4 ****ing AM!!!!

thats all I have to say about this game. Well that and I want my wheel...


PS: just thought there were a few things you should all know. Alt tabbing gets the game stuck in window mode, just use alt enter to fix this. The AI is as bad as it is as its using no driving assists, if your using them odds are you are going to be quicker than most of them. And the cars are o so reflective, there was something else but its 4am so may be later
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2010, 05:16 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 362

My System Specs

Default

Is this game any different from grid/dirt 2 in the sense of game structure

I found those two games to be rather repetitive and it got annoying pretty quick.
__________________
Daily // 2.4GHz Mac Mini ::4GB :: 320GB HDD :: Apple Wireless Keyboard :: G5v2

Rig // PC-A7010 :: 1050W :: Rampage :: Q6600 :: 8GB :: GTX 260
X25-V :: 4x 1TB RAID-5 :: 2x 1TB RAID-1 :: 4x 1.5TB :: 1x 2TB
G15v2 :: MX-518 :: Xonar DX :: 7 Pro x64

2408WFP :: DT770/80 :: Onkyo TX-SR605 :: Klipsch RB-61 :: SVS PB10-NSD
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2010, 04:11 PM
r0bc's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AB
Posts: 688

My System Specs

Default

The graphics are ok but the physics are awful. It's disappointing.
Mario kart is more Sim then this.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2010, 05:38 PM
Full Speed's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Paradise, Newfoundland
Posts: 829

My System Specs

Default

Downloading now. Can't wait.
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2010, 05:27 AM
cmac79's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 1,051

My System Specs

Default

i been playin it a bit,its ok but to me it just seems like grid/dirt 2 all over again with just f1 cars and diff tracks.I think i would enjoy it more if i had a wheel instead of a controller.
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2010, 08:27 PM
kruzn4evr's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 1,806

My System Specs

Default

Well I just couldn't resist and bit the bullet!...I ordered it!...I hope I can run it in 3d!..lol
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2010, 07:27 PM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Empty_Quarter View Post
Is this game any different from grid/dirt 2 in the sense of game structure

I found those two games to be rather repetitive and it got annoying pretty quick.
Its F1 with everything that that statement comes with, the circuits, the car, the weather. Dont know dirt2 but it is set up completely different to Grid, there is a logical progression of the tracks (same as the schedule for this season). Weather is done quite well, ai doesnt handle it all that well sadly (managed to get pole by about 5 seconds in a lotus somehow) though that may be due to the fact that I have all assists on while the ai has none (this is why the ai is apparently not all that good, take off your assists and it improves the difficulty) but aquaplaning is common and to the person who said that this game wasnt very simmy, I dont have much to base this on but it seems pretty decent to me sim wise, cars move the way they are suppose to, had a few random spins but thats going to happen when you accelerate on off camber curbs mid corner.

damage is another story
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2010, 02:33 PM
Technokat's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London Ontario
Posts: 517

My System Specs

Default

Just a couple tips for everyone: if you want to dabble with the Direct x11 go to:
documents/mygames/f1_2010/hardwaresettings/hardware_settings_config on there look for the statement <directx forcedx9="true" /> change it to <directx forcedx9="false" />

this isnt fully optimized and there may be some graphics glitches on a couple tracks, but if you want to try it. Kuala lampur is the biggest example of the glitching, most other tracks seem ok

For those running game pads to play, i found this helped with the controls: go to steam directory, and find where the game installed too, go in the action map directory, edit the windows ximput.xml look for the steer left/right section, change Deadzone to 0.3. It takes the jitteriness out of the controlls, i found with it at default the game tended to drift left or right even with your hand not on the stick. this fixes that.
__________________


Last edited by Technokat; September 26, 2010 at 02:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2010, 01:14 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,140

My System Specs

Default

A post on the official forum addressing some issues people have been complaining about: [All] AI Issues Response - Codemasters Forums

Looks like a patch is in the works.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Codemaster week end Steam sale. upcoast604 Gaming 11 April 30, 2010 09:16 PM
HWC F@H Contest (Sept 8th-29th) Questions/Comments FiXT HardwareCanucks F@H Team 110 October 1, 2009 02:55 PM
Sept i7 build! Black_Ice-Dragon New Builds 1 June 23, 2009 09:16 AM
DemiGod beta to start on Sept 5th muse108dc Gaming 10 September 5, 2008 04:43 PM