Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2010, 01:54 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

simple and best solution yet.... use dual monitor...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2010, 02:17 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,817

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTA View Post
simple and best solution yet.... use dual monitor...
Not really, you can't chat while keeping the game up. And some games don't let you minimize either.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2010, 02:24 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

really...?

i remember to play on the forgotten game (not sure what title is) on the main monitor and i open utorrent, walkthrought and msn on other monitor... i able to pause the game then go to other monitor... :?
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2010, 03:19 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTA View Post
really...?

i remember to play on the forgotten game (not sure what title is) on the main monitor and i open utorrent, walkthrought and msn on other monitor... i able to pause the game then go to other monitor... :?
That's basically what I do.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2010, 03:21 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,228

My System Specs

Default

Vent?
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2010, 04:49 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 67
Default

Im having trouble getting Xfire to open in my games, the scroll lock plus K or whatever the defualt bind is not working in my games I even tried changing to unused keys and no dice :(
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2010, 05:49 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: South Shore Montreal
Posts: 1,945
Default

Does the little xfire window pop up in the bottom right hand corner when you load the game? If it doesn't go to tools > options > games to force it to check for installed games and make sure the one you are playing is listed (you may need to add it manually).

Scroll lock + x should be the default to bring up xfire (or + c for chat window).
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2010, 05:52 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

My and my clan buddies are using GSC for about two years no problem.
You can own your own voice chat channel,multiple room with locks or public, different server locations to be close to the servers, with total control and admin privileges for FREE.

GSC is provided by gameservers.com, even if you don't rent from them..

GSC - The Ultimate Gaming Client with Free Voice Servers! - Home

XFIRE is nice also. I really dig the FPS overlay. also the clock overlay.

Actually, I always run both GSC voice and XFIRE (tells me who of my buddies are on and what they play).
I use both the clock and the FPS overlays in-game...NICE
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2010, 12:29 AM
Jokester's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lynn Valley
Posts: 27

My System Specs

Default

Steam seems the best to me.
__________________
Techead in mind, body and soul

Lian Dream: i7 2600k @ 5.1Ghz, Asus Maximus IV Gene-z, MSI N680GTX Twin Frozr II,8GB 2x4GB Mushkin Ridgeback, Crucial M4 128GB x2, Plextor PX-755SA, Seasonic 750, Lian-li
HTPC: E5300@3.6ghz, Asus P5Q Pro Turbo, Gigabyte 7600GT, Mushkin redline 1GBx2, 2x 500gb Maxtor Raid 1, 300gb Seagate, 74gb Raptor, PC P&C 510, Silverstone LC16m
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2010, 03:53 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 736
Default

If you're using Steam or other in-game service it's probably conflicting with xfire, as it does that to me too.

but yes: Steam and Xfire are all the ingame chat clients you'd ever need. :)
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Steam update: Tabbed chat and browsing Zero82z Gaming 18 August 22, 2010 01:42 PM
HWC Instant Chat? chrisk Suggestions & Feedback 6 April 12, 2010 09:10 PM
Best free voice chat software? Thund3rball O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 March 21, 2009 10:19 AM
Chat ???? WolfBane Off Topic 17 February 7, 2009 09:58 PM
Chat or Shoutbox feature MAC Suggestions & Feedback 13 May 15, 2008 07:28 PM