Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2010, 01:59 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default Steam update: Tabbed chat and browsing

Normally I wouldn't bother posting a thread about a Steam update, but they just added tabs to both Steam chat and the in-game browser which is something I've wanted for a long time. They even added standard hotkeys which should be very convenient. I figured someone else might like to know as well.

Here's the changelist: News - Steam client update released
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2010, 02:59 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: South Shore Montreal
Posts: 1,945
Default

Been using this for a week or two, can't say though if it is much of an improvement at least for the chat (I don't use the browser all that much). It would be nice if you had it minimised and then when someone messaged you it would switch to that tab when you open it. Also maybe have it it always keep full name (or larger than what it is now) and if it runs out of space on one row to start another.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2010, 04:25 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

the browser has been there for months
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2010, 04:54 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,954

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianHanna View Post
the browser has been there for months
I believe years but could be wrong. Been using it for a long time. Sometimes its nice to have some cheats or play some music video off youtube.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2010, 05:32 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

Zero meant tabbed browsing not the inclusiion of a browser
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2010, 06:03 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by headsh0t View Post
Zero meant tabbed browsing not the inclusiion of a browser

ooo, well in that case, that's sweet.
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2010, 07:37 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for reading the post and the change notes before replying ;).
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2010, 10:07 PM
Full Speed's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Paradise, Newfoundland
Posts: 829

My System Specs

Default

I think it's a very nice and important inclusdion. I like to use tabbed browsingf.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2010, 11:45 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

Hey and they still haven't fixed that bug where you're steam icon in the taskbar shows as if it is downloading a game or something, yet you're not....
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2010, 12:00 AM
DkRk's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VanCity, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by headsh0t View Post
Hey and they still haven't fixed that bug where you're steam icon in the taskbar shows as if it is downloading a game or something, yet you're not....
That's always bugged the hell out of me. It's irrational, but even yesterday my icon did that and I was clicking all around looking for my free download, got upset, and then clicked around like a chihuahua on crack, trying to find a fix.
__________________
Protect your chicken from Dokken.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Steam Hardware Survey June 2010 Update FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 19 July 8, 2010 04:32 PM
Laptop for Internet browsing TheWanderer Mobile Computing 4 June 9, 2010 12:51 PM
P6T squeezing noise when browsing pp1111 Troubleshooting 6 June 28, 2009 03:52 PM
Chat ???? WolfBane Off Topic 17 February 7, 2009 10:58 PM
Browsing Issue with Firefox BALISTX O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 March 4, 2007 05:48 PM