Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2010, 08:04 PM
Full Speed's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mount Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 811

My System Specs

Default

I liked the first Diablo's darkness. I like the second one more for the gameplay, but I thought the darkness was kind of lost. Third one seems to be going even further in that direction.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2010, 08:14 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Third rendition is starting to border on Dungeon siege which was very light. Wouldnt mind seeing a 3rd dungeon seige though now that I think about it.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2010, 03:06 AM
Full Speed's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mount Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 811

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Realityshift View Post
Third rendition is starting to border on Dungeon siege which was very light. Wouldnt mind seeing a 3rd dungeon seige though now that I think about it.
Dungeon Siege 3 is due out next year I believe.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2010, 08:45 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Full Speed View Post
Dungeon Siege 3 is due out next year I believe.
Yes, but it's not Gas Powered Games developing it. They sold the franchise to the publisher Square Enix who is having Obsidian develop it, although Chris Taylor is supposed to have some input in the development.

Dungeon Siege 3 Teased with Teaser, Screenshots - Shacknews - PC Games, PlayStation, Xbox 360 and Wii video game news, previews and downloads
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2010, 11:10 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Heh.... when folks are talking about DII, are they actually remembering DII as it was, or remembering it with the expansion pack? Remember, DII on it's own didn't even do 800X600 res.... ;)

As far as playing goes... seems to me that the original Diablo was a lot less open ended than DII was.

I'm still hoping for a new open ended game a-la oblivion......
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2010, 11:52 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

@sswilson: Yeah, you're absolutely right. Diablo was very linear, where in order to beat Diablo you had to destroy every enemy on every level to gain enough attributes to kill him. Sometimes the game would spawn a huge amount of those spitting demons all in one spot, and they would all attack at the same time, right at an essential doorway to get to the next level. That was brutal. You would have to go back to town a lot just to get past that doorway. Gotta love spawn bugs (or maybe it was intentional :P).

Diablo II opened up the door for leveling and provided way more replayability I think. But I still love the dark and evil surroundings from Diablo.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2010, 03:24 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 57
Default

Hope it will be a good game.
__________________
New Rig FTW
E7400 @ 2.8 GHZ
HD4650 PowerCooler
600W PSU OCZ
GIGABYTE MOBO
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 07:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 26

My System Specs

Default

Pretty sure it's gonna be good; hopefully it has the same longevity and re-playability of Diablo 2.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 07:19 PM
TimTheEnchanter's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 841
Default

Blizzard knows what they are doing. They take their time but are working on a best seller again.

No need to compare d1 to d2 or d3, as they are completely differents games with different styles. Both are good.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2010, 07:44 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 211

My System Specs

Default

so will it be like SC2 in terms of how hard it'll run the hardware? or will they have fixed the bugs by then?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gamer comp - Diablo 3 and later Alexanderrazz New Builds 3 June 26, 2010 05:00 PM
Diablo 2 Arinoth Gaming 21 June 8, 2010 09:49 AM
In honour of Diablo 3 Arinoth Gaming 101 November 23, 2009 07:00 AM
Diablo 3 - PLEASE! TwystedMonkey Gaming 52 September 20, 2008 05:21 AM
Diablo 3 : What we know so far TwystedMonkey Gaming 16 July 3, 2008 09:34 PM