Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1321 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2013, 06:22 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
Just now announced at the PS4 freed, will be available for the PS3 and PS4.

Four player co-op on the same screen, one couch to rule them all
Maybe we'll get some controller lovin' on the PC then. ;)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #1322 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2013, 10:11 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

10xL60 apparently. I just wanted to unlock that cool shit my farming DH found for my second Monk...

Thanks all the same.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #1323 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2013, 06:48 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

GUYZ IM OFFLINE AND CANT PLAY! GUYZ!! SRSLY!! ITS OK THOUGH I LOVE BLIZZARD.
Reply With Quote
  #1324 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2013, 12:06 AM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,714
Default

Have to say the stuff coming out of Blizzard in regards to Diablo3 actually sounds promising. Though at this point it feel like they really are doing more work on the game since its release than they did before. I actually have hope for it again, might give it another go when 1.8 comes out.

And yes, the online is still extremely annoying, I still get lag spikes during single player games.
Reply With Quote
  #1325 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2013, 02:28 AM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

I miss the days when even a 56k connection was more than enough. I don't remember ever having issues with lag on games like Starcraft or Warcraft.
Reply With Quote
  #1326 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2013, 10:18 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,603

My System Specs

Default

The problem with Diablo 3 is the fact they have A LOT less servers running and only in certain locations on each continent. Starcraft there are tons of servers plus someone is the host while playing, Warcraft again tons of servers and you are the host. With Diablo 3 there is only one server location for all of NA which is West Coast, if you are East Coast or say Atlantic Canada you get some horrible lag just because they couldn't be bothered to have East servers. Lost count of how many times I died due to lag because of my high latency (on fibre no less too) because of how far I am from their West Coast servers.
Reply With Quote
  #1327 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2013, 10:59 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
The problem with Diablo 3 is the fact they have A LOT less servers running and only in certain locations on each continent. Starcraft there are tons of servers plus someone is the host while playing, Warcraft again tons of servers and you are the host. With Diablo 3 there is only one server location for all of NA which is West Coast, if you are East Coast or say Atlantic Canada you get some horrible lag just because they couldn't be bothered to have East servers. Lost count of how many times I died due to lag because of my high latency (on fibre no less too) because of how far I am from their West Coast servers.
That's not the answer either since producers tend to cheap out by using an off-the-shelf p2p protocol which is then flagged and throttled by ISPs unless producers also offer the chance to easily opt out of being the host.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #1328 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2013, 11:31 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,603

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
That's not the answer either since producers tend to cheap out by using an off-the-shelf p2p protocol which is then flagged and throttled by ISPs unless producers also offer the chance to easily opt out of being the host.
Maybe it's the fact all the data is stored on the servers and accessed by the player in Diablo 3 but Starcraft and Warcraft a lot of the data is processed user side then sent, requiring less data packets to be sent?

Other then that it's black magic OR aliens...
Reply With Quote
  #1329 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2013, 02:26 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

This was a pretty crappy drop for Inferno Whimsyshire... Guess it makes up for the decent Sloraks Madness I found there the week before.
Attached Images
 
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #1330 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2013, 10:53 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Broke down and bought my second (not including mats) item off of the AH. Needed IK helm to complete the set (rest was self found and at least 2 of each piece found) and while I found a tal rasha's helm, the chances of finding an IK helm weren't looking all that good so I bought a cheapish (2M) one on the AH with the justification that I would have traded one of my recent 2M+ AH sales for one.

Did anybody else find that helms were the hardest upgrade to find? In 1000+ hrs of play I honestly think I've had a total of 2 helms drop that I even considered wearing (the tal rasha's for 5.5 crit + socket, and a crappy Andarial's w/out socket for the damage), the rest of my helms have been crafted and those weren't nothing to write home about.

Is it just me, or are decent non-class specific helms really hard to come by?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gamer comp - Diablo 3 and later Alexanderrazz New Builds 3 June 26, 2010 06:00 PM
Diablo 2 Arinoth Gaming 21 June 8, 2010 10:49 AM
In honour of Diablo 3 Arinoth Gaming 101 November 23, 2009 08:00 AM
Diablo 3 - PLEASE! TwystedMonkey Gaming 52 September 20, 2008 06:21 AM
Diablo 3 : What we know so far TwystedMonkey Gaming 16 July 3, 2008 10:34 PM