Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2010, 02:15 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

Wierd, im using 2 4870s and i've had no problems, not even a crash in the couple days i've been playing.

I have v-sync enables from the start though, i heard that alleviates a lot of the issues
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2010, 02:58 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

Heh.... Ok, somebody absolutely has to run fraps (or something similar) while the menu screen is up.... gotta know what kind of FPS it's hitting..... :)
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2010, 04:31 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Heh.... Ok, somebody absolutely has to run fraps (or something similar) while the menu screen is up.... gotta know what kind of FPS it's hitting..... :)
Will do

Edit: well for me it's only going 63fps in menus.
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2010, 07:45 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 59

My System Specs

Default

ATI hotfix is out for AA in SC2 in case you haven't seen it already.

GPU-75: ATI Catalyst? 10.7a Beta Driver
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2010, 09:09 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianHanna View Post
Will do

Edit: well for me it's only going 63fps in menus.
Hrmmmm... well that's certainly not mind blowing FPS (although it'd be great to get that consistantly in a game.... :) ) is that with the 4870?
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2010, 09:00 AM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Hrmmmm... well that's certainly not mind blowing FPS (although it'd be great to get that consistantly in a game.... :) ) is that with the 4870?
2 4870s, and in game, it's very smooth, i don't think it ever falls below 50 fps on ultimate settings
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 08:15 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,406

My System Specs

Default

They patch this already?
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 5, 2010, 07:00 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Default

I don't seem to have any heating issues with my vid cards on this one.

FPS in the menu is 63.
In-game I get around 140 - 160 FPS V-sync off, everything at max and at 1680x1050.

I'm running with two HD 4890's.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2010, 01:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 42
Default

The 'bug' only means your cards are fully stressed when in the menu. So your hardware should not overheat, as it is merely being used for what it was designed for. My Temps don't get any higher than the lower 60s...

If you do get overheating issues, this means that you should be getting them whenever you play any demanding game anyway. So it's an issue with your hardware/case airflow, not the game itself doing something wrong with your PC.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Video Card DXStriker Video Cards 13 December 17, 2009 03:41 PM
[WTB] Sound card and wc video card hausner Buy/Sell & Trade 17 August 11, 2009 01:59 PM
WTB: Video Card/Sound Card/Hard drive - Look here if u gotz some ! Flintblade Buy/Sell & Trade 4 December 4, 2008 09:27 PM
Video Card memory 512 Available video memory 1268 mb? TwystedMonkey Troubleshooting 4 August 24, 2008 06:07 PM
WTB PCI-E Video card with Video out Taichan Buy/Sell & Trade 0 June 9, 2008 08:17 PM