Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #291 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2012, 10:10 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Get 3 bunkers at each bridge as suggested, get 4 barracks, 1 with tech lab for medics, get lots of scv's. I usually hotkey my CC at teh beginning so I can pump scv's. Hotkey your 4 barracks to pump marines constantly. When the zerg attack one side, repell it and push out that same side in force. Always use shift movements to move your marines around and always do that shoot-move-shoot-move micro when pushing up a ramp or through a narrow chokepoint. I thought the 3 achievements were just for HARD difficulty? Its pretty difficult to get them on BRUTAL. And yes, youtube is your friend here. Just wait until you get the that jungle level where you have to collect the terazine gas on Brutal!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #292 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2012, 01:49 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 561
Default

^yep, I tried getting all 3 on brutal at the same time (I played the whole campaign starting on brutal)....never quite managed it.
Reply With Quote
  #293 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2012, 06:26 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default

I finished it once on brutal, 2/3 groups rescued but 0/8 zerg things killed

So I restarted and use the center of base as main defense point, that went alright, but same outcome 0/8 zerg things killed
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p
Reply With Quote
  #294 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2012, 07:25 AM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TedShackley View Post
Yeah I need to set/learn them, so far I oly use the shift key and shift/A attack from time to time
You need to get away from clicking. ALL production has to be done from they keyboard or else you can never effectively create units quick enough or in a proper order. Brutal is.. well.. BRUTAL. Even as a seasoned player with over 5000 ladder games played at the time I tackled brutal I still had difficulty on some of the later missions.

I suggest something like this. This is what I do. hotkey 1 is for scout or army, hotkey 2 for command centers, 3 for barracks', 4 for factories, 5 for starports, 6 for engineering bays. THis way you can easily and quickly select your buildings for production and just spam hotkeys.

Don't be discouraged it can be done it just takes practice. It took me a long time to get used to macroing with the keyboard instead of clicking on icons on the bottom right of the screen. Once you learn to do this it takes your game to a whole new level.
__________________
I'm a damn hoarder lol.
Reply With Quote
  #295 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2012, 02:53 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default

I also have ulnar nerve damage just lastly on left hand , makes gaming harder

Thats also my guitar hand, I like folks like Yngive Mamlsteen, Steve Vai
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3870 for Starcraft II Dr_BenD_over Video Cards 11 August 24, 2010 12:32 PM
StarCraft 2 Airshehan Gaming 16 September 8, 2009 11:44 AM
Starcraft II delayed again. TimTheEnchanter Gaming 24 August 19, 2009 03:43 AM
Starcraft 2: The thread! llama_egg Gaming 6 October 11, 2008 01:15 PM
StarCraft Trailer Babrbarossa Gaming 12 March 14, 2008 12:57 PM