Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 07:47 PM
mjpd1983's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Perth
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default SUPCOM more stressful than Crysis?!

Hey guys,

Just curious what fps you's are getting out of your rigs on SUPCOM 1 if you happen to play that game

I've always heard its very CPU intensive but it doesnt seem to stress or use much of my i5 750

I also have a HD5870 and i usually get around 30 - 49fps in game

Is that normal?

i get way more fps in other newer and more "intensive" games such as Crysis Warhead, BBC2, Dirt 2

Anyone have any personal experience to share?

Looks like SUPCOM is even more stressful to the rig than Crysis Warhead

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 11:40 PM
Mook06's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 114

My System Specs

Default

i know nothing about the game, but maybe its only single core and windows is jumping the task around so it looks like very low activity
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 10:50 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,527

My System Specs

Default

Might be right in range actually, depending on what res you are running at. Check this article from HWC.

Intel Westmere 32nm Launch & Clarkdale Core i5-661 CPU Review
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 02:33 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

The original SupCom was/is a gross CPU pig on larger levels with lots of units. Despite all the marketing hype claiming that it would fully use a quad-core, the actual ratio seems to be about 75% on core 0, and 25% on the other three cores combined. A limitation of the game engine, I've been led to understand.

What you'll see as you increase level size/units, is the game will actually slow the in-game clock down to let it keep up with all the AI/projectile calculations, but still keep rendering frames as fast as it can manage. But graphics-wise, I'm not sure I would say that it's more demanding than Crysis, although I don't recall ever seeing sky-high numbers on my GTX280.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 05:52 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,954

My System Specs

Default

Generally massive strategy games like supreme commander, total war, etc are more stressful than FPS's in general.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 12:00 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by belgolas View Post
Generally massive strategy games like supreme commander, total war, etc are more stressful than FPS's in general.
No, they are just more CPU-intensive. Most strategy games require less graphical power than FPSes and other shooter-style games.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 02:16 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,954

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
No, they are just more CPU-intensive. Most strategy games require less graphical power than FPSes and other shooter-style games.
Well he is talking about CPU's. I have yet to see a system that can run any total war game maxed out with max players/armies smoothly.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 07:52 PM
mjpd1983's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Perth
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for all the responses guys

Yeah the game runs very smooth but was just curious of the fps ppl are getting since mine were around 30-50fps with the i5 750 and 5870

No complaints either way, just hard to tell if the game is multi core optimised when watching core activity

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2010, 06:02 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,230

My System Specs

Default

Yep when I LAN SupCom it's usually the people with the most stable rigs that win , and we normally end up disconnecting weak laptops / those running unstable Wifi links.
I can get perfectly smooth "FPS" in the game with my Radeon 4870 (with the exception of Forged Alliance with too much Seraphim stuff on screen at once), but as everyone else said it's the CPU that's the killer.

One sign that (one core of) your CPU is getting hosed is you look at the game timer. If I play against too many AIs, I get a 1:2 or 1:3 ratio of real time vs the time being shown on the timer. (e.g. 1:30 into a game in real time, and the timer shows less than 1 hour) Note that all though this slowness, I do not see choppy frames... just everything moving in slow motion.

The game is also accused of overrunning a 32-bit Windows app's 2-gig working space limit: GPG Forums • View topic - Crashing with large maps, several skirmish AI (FIX)
My friend and I noticed this in an 8-player LAN game, when he launched ~60 air superiority fighters at my ~80 air superiority fighters and 20+ SAM sites. Both our games crashed the second all the stuff started launching missiles.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2010, 03:52 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Yeah, if you're looking for big maps, using the large address aware tag is almost mandatory. No idea how the developers overlooked that aspect.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Supcom 1 - Does anyone know why? mjpd1983 Gaming 0 June 27, 2010 02:51 AM
CRYSIS 2 Announced!! Killswitch Gaming 53 March 4, 2010 08:32 PM
crysis vs. crysis warhead shayan288 Gaming 2 January 7, 2009 11:18 AM
For Sale: $20 Crysis Warhead Digital Rights w/Crysis 1 CD Key arekieh Buy/Sell & Trade 0 October 6, 2008 09:20 PM
someone really liked Crysis... TwystedMonkey Off Topic 6 June 29, 2008 04:52 PM