Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2007, 12:54 AM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default How to enable Crossfire in Crysis Demo!

After some research and tinkering, I finally got crossfire to work! No B.S! BUT..... the graphics are glitchy and I could only get this to work in DX9. Some objects such as trees and clouds flicker. However the demo is still playable and those of you with a crossfire setup can finally get an idea of how your system might run!

This is how I did it.......

Go to the Bin32 folder. Rename Crysis.exe to AFR-FRIENDLYD3D.EXE. Now make a new shortcut for this file on your desktop. If you're running XP I'd imagine you'll be good to go from here. If you're running Vista, right click on the shortcut, go to properties, and add -DX9 at the end of the target line.

With one 2600XT I could only run medium @ 1440x900 and get an avg of around 20 to 25 fps. Now with CF I can run high (except shaders.... reason is coming......) at the same resolution and get an average of around 30 to 35 fps.

Now, the reason why I had to leave shaders on medium was because on high it looks like the sun is in your eyes at all times and you can't really see anything LOL.

Anyways, I hope this works for everyone else who has been left in the dark and wondering about how their crossfire setup might perform in Crysis! Especially all of you guys with a pair of 2900's!!!!!!

Last edited by Killswitch; November 16, 2007 at 06:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2007, 06:08 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

This works for the game too. Has anyone else tried this yet?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2007, 07:48 PM
Amon's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719

My System Specs

Default

Man, I can't even play this. But thanks for the heads-up!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2007, 07:58 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

There's a new hotfix just released you might want to try. It didn't change anything for me but it's worth a shot. lol

AMD Customer Care
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible Crossfire Crysis Fix way Video Cards 1 December 17, 2007 02:32 AM
Crysis demo belgolas Gaming 84 November 8, 2007 12:06 AM
NFS Prostreet Demo Theblackmages Gaming 36 November 6, 2007 01:23 PM
Two worlds Demo? sswilson Gaming 6 September 12, 2007 08:45 PM
Crysis Demo cdn_Madrach Gaming 5 August 28, 2007 06:42 PM