Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2010, 05:10 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

When you've got a bunch of people sending pings as fast as your processor and internet connection can send them you're typically looking at 60 to 100K/sec of packets heading their way. They can refuse to answer them, if they want.... but they can't stop downloading them and they can't move the server from that IP or once again the DRM games won't work.

It doesn't take too many people at 100K/sec to make the server unavailable.

It also looks like their forums run off the same server, so...

Also, it doesn't matter if they are using CMD or not. A P3 @ 800mhz is going to do a HELL of a lot of packets if connected to a high bandwidth point...
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2010, 07:06 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sushi Warrior View Post
Mafiaboy took over some university servers IIRC. This is a bunch of people using CMD.... Ubisofts servers must REALLY be fail.
It's not a bunch of people running CMD, it's a bunch of people and a botnet.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 05:23 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Oh FFS, the Ravenshield master server got taken down, no more MP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


arrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr rgh
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 10:16 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,564

My System Specs

Default

Did Ravensheild actually have a lot of people playing on it? That game came out in 2003.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 03:32 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Usually only about 100 people when we play.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 04:44 AM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,564

My System Specs

Default

And each server hosts how many? 6 at the most?

I do know what your saying though. Not supporting peer to peer is a crime imo. If that is the issue with this game.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 06:13 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRQ Conflict View Post
And each server hosts how many? 6 at the most?

I do know what your saying though. Not supporting peer to peer is a crime imo. If that is the issue with this game.
32 if you have the connection for it.

Seems it's been down for a few days. It'll suck if it's gone for good, one less co-op game to play.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell

Last edited by Dr_BenD_over; March 21, 2010 at 06:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 06:02 PM
Deviant's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UWO :D or Toronto
Posts: 355

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_BenD_over View Post
Usually only about 100 people when we play.
Wow...I consider Raven Shield as the last game in the series to be worthy of playing (Vegas and the rest are just crap...).

Well, Ubisoft needs to get their act together. EA seems to have done so (removing annoying DRM measures and putting out GOOD games) and hopefully EA starts making a profit again ($83 million loss this year compared to $600 million loss last year!!!).

The only evil I see now lies with Activision and them killing off creativity (only supporting games that can be remade into more games...sounds like what EA was trying to do before).
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 06:42 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deviant View Post
EA seems to have done so (removing annoying DRM measures and putting out GOOD games)
I would have agreed with that before C&C4 came out.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2010, 07:23 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: South Shore Montreal
Posts: 1,945
Default

isn't the C&C4 DRM essentially the same as what Ubisoft is doing? It certainly sounds similar.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ubisoft DRM? What? Lamb Press Releases & Tech News 0 March 6, 2010 06:35 PM
Ubisoft + Ontario = Cluster &*^%^$ SKYMTL Off Topic 21 July 8, 2009 03:40 PM
DRM thought. tzetsin Off Topic 7 June 20, 2009 09:32 AM
UbiSoft wants to hear from gamers Shadowed Gaming 0 April 8, 2007 11:38 AM