Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 01:59 PM
Mark's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bolton, Ontario
Posts: 859
Thumbs up S.T.A.L.K.E.R.

Finally had the patience to finish off Stalker "Shadows of Chernobly" as well as Stalker "Clear Sky". It was the second installment that actually re-initiated my interest of the first, since I found it confusing to say the least.

Well, I have to admit that you do get your moneys worth in comparison to most games these days and it's fairly accurate with depictions of the famous amusement park and surround buildings that were affected by the melt down in 1986's reactor 4.

I found this video on youtube about the incident at it was truly horrifying but a must see.:

YouTube - Chernobyl Decay and Deformed

Great line of games

8-10
__________________



CHEERS
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 02:05 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Stalker is like Borderlands for me.

Far to boring and annoying in the beginning to really get into it.

I have tried to play Stalker so many times and just give up.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 02:08 PM
Mark's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bolton, Ontario
Posts: 859
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Stalker is like Borderlands for me.

Far to boring and annoying in the beginning to really get into it.

I have tried to play Stalker so many times and just give up.
That was the problem I had as well but I found "Clear Sky" to be better. I enjoyed it so much that I forced my senses to finish of the first.
__________________



CHEERS
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 02:16 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Stalker is like Borderlands for me.

Far to boring and annoying in the beginning to really get into it.

I have tried to play Stalker so many times and just give up.

please don't compare it to borderland,

me too it take 2 years, I try few time, don't like it, until I find a tutorial, and then I fall in love,
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 02:41 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,527

My System Specs

Default

It is definitely slow at the start, which sadly keeps me from getting right into it, but everytime I start it I get a little more into it. I think it's just myt play times are so sporadic it's hard for the bug to get me. I need instant gratification like God fo War. Although I LOVED Borderlands immediately, finished it and soaked in some more hours on a 2nd playthrough to level up some more. Getting close to 70 hours on a $38 game. Will definitely be getting the DLC too. But I think the fact that it runs like buttah on my laptop at pretty high settings helps. Stalker would never do that.

Can't say I'd compare it to Stalker though. only in the sense that it's a kind of open world RPS. But going by a definition like that you could say any FPS is like any other.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 04:55 PM
thenewguy001's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 844
Default

stalker had too many bugs, and mods couldn't fix the ones that annoyed me most, with the AI. and clear sky was supposed to be worse than the original as everyone told me to stay away from it. I'm surprised you liked it more.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.0 GHz
2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Patriot Pyro 240GB
Gigabyte HD 6970 OC
Gigabyte Z68X-UDH3-B3
Seasonic 760W
Coolermaster Hyper 212+
CM690 w/ 1-80mm, 6-120mm fans.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 05:48 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thenewguy001 View Post
stalker had too many bugs,
what bugs ??????
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 05:55 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

When I first played STALKER, I didn't install a single mod and I never encountered any real bugs during my entire playthrough of the game. From what I've heard, it was buggy at release, but that is certainly not the case any more.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 06:19 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

you have some samlls bugs, especially when you reload a game , like guy running in a wall , but we get use to it.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 09:58 PM
thenewguy001's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 844
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
what bugs ??????
mostly AI that magically knows where you are all the time. This is most evident at indoor areas where when it triggers all the AI in the surrounding area start shooting you at once, even if they can't see you and there are multiple walls between you and them. This is often triggered by the save/reload bug, where on reload, your character's noise meter goes through the roof. there's no way to fix these with mods they are engine problems.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.0 GHz
2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Patriot Pyro 240GB
Gigabyte HD 6970 OC
Gigabyte Z68X-UDH3-B3
Seasonic 760W
Coolermaster Hyper 212+
CM690 w/ 1-80mm, 6-120mm fans.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes