Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2010, 08:53 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

it's pretty ******* disgusting that i still havent been able to play the game
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2010, 10:09 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: South Shore Montreal
Posts: 1,956
Default

was Impulse doing preloads, I know with Mass Effect 2 Impulse started preloading before steam did.
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2010, 10:42 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,070

My System Specs

Default

My server browser and the instant play don't work....?
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2010, 10:43 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,438

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RBA View Post
Picked up the game late today and have to say I am impressed so far! Multiplayer is a blast and the single player looks like it is going to be entertaining as well. Congrats to Dice for a job well done!
I'm hoping Sky or someone from HWC will use this game to bench hardware so I can figure out an upgrade path to my aging system (postponed numerous times) in order to fully enjoy performance and eye candy.1920 x 1080 resolution is my goal. How is everyone finding the performance on their systems?
+1 to that.

I need a new processor for this game. My 5200+ @ 2.9GHZ is bottlenecking my ATI 4850. My poor 4850 GPU usage is only at ~55%...
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2010, 10:44 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,098
Default

Okay.... holy this game rocks. I seriously think the graphics are amazing, even if some refuse to admit it looks better than Crysis. Play singleplayer into the jungle missions and tell me which one you think looks better... its just nuts.

And they've made many changes for the better too! Improved audio, no graphical glitches, weapons deal more damage, etc etc etc.

I consider myself addicted already, lol.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2010, 11:51 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,119

My System Specs

Default

well ive been playing the game and i am addicted now. one small problem, nomater what audio setting i use i can only get stereo, no 5.1. my amp is fead thought a fiber optic cable and only shows its getting a stereo signal.
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 12:10 AM
Polygon's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Vancouver
Posts: 956

My System Specs

Default

I couldn't play it today (My dad's birthday) but I'm installing it today. Good to see the game seems to be well received. Beta was a heck of fun.
__________________
'Do not wish for easier lives, wish to be stronger men'
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 06:40 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,098
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickpolyz View Post
I couldn't play it today (My dad's birthday) but I'm installing it today. Good to see the game seems to be well received. Beta was a heck of fun.
The beta was significantly less awesome than this version... Seriously, I don't know what they did to the audio, but it Sounds so much better. Weapons and have a great "thud" sound to them that I don't remember from the beta at all.

Other changes from the beta:
- Weapons do seem to do far more damage, at least in sp a quick 2-3 bullet burst to one offending enemy drops them.
- HBAO seems to have been greatly streamlined: When playing with max everything + 2x MSAA + 2xAF + HBAO @ 1900x1200 I haven't noticed any lag or choppyness at all that I experienced in the Beta during high action. (I'll check with fraps next time I play to be sure)
- Tanks seem to move and fire more quickly, but that may be a Singleplayer-only thing.
- UAV flight controls are now inverted properly when toggled. It's secondary weapon also works now, lol.


To verify:
- Eyefinity support
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 07:30 AM
m1dget's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Terrebonne, Qc
Posts: 706

My System Specs

Default

I played a bit this morning but again WAY too much cod4 ninja's running around ruining the fine gameplay. -_-

Up to now the game is fun, but in all honesty not worth the 60$ I paid for it :(
__________________
"NIX is a classic example of security through obscurity because there is no real monetary reward for crackers and hackers to break Linix" -AkG
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 08:26 AM
ChuckleBrother's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 571

My System Specs

Default

Can anyone enlighten me, is there a way to run the game windowed without borders(fake fullscreen)? Asking because running basically ANYTHING fullscreen causes my video to drop out and never return(hardlock yay).
__________________
"...you play a mean banjo"
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Group Buy YukonTrooper Gaming 7 March 25, 2010 05:21 PM
BattleField Bad Company 2 - 4 PACKS! trayton Gaming 6 March 25, 2010 04:50 PM
Battlefield Bad Company 2 - Graphics Glitching TokeR Gaming 10 March 14, 2010 01:30 PM
Bad Company 2 Server, All Welcome. Chromey Gaming 0 March 9, 2010 02:34 PM