Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2010, 04:17 PM
MrDiaz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 576

My System Specs

Default

I was just playing for a bit, man this game put some serious stress on my little 8800 GTS
__________________
-- Viva Canada! --
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2010, 09:02 PM
Mobile_Crysis's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ohio - USA
Posts: 37

My System Specs

Default

All right everyone, I just played it on high settings with no physx. First of all, the game is awesome thus far, and despire what some reviews have said, The weapons ARE hard hitting, it's just that they're very inaccurate. So aim careful. Anyways, with the rig that's my signature I'm getting between 30 and 50 FPS. Lowest was 25, and highest was 80. This is DX11 on high with no physics. I think it's better then the Crysis engine (yes I have all the crysis games and yes i can play them on max settings so I know what it's like.)
__________________
Gaming PC:
AMD Phenom II X4 810
GIGABYTE GA-790FXTA-UD5
G.Skill Ripjaw Series 8 GB DDR3 1600 PC12800
1 x Sapphire HD 5850 (2 when the price drops)
Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal!ty Edition
2 x Western Digital Black 500 GB
LG DVD Burner with Lightscribe
Coolermaster Sniper Black edition
Corsair AX750 Modular PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64 Bit
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2010, 09:04 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Stop it or I am going to buy this game! lol
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2010, 10:39 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,037

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDiaz View Post
If a game requires 8GB of RAM to play, that's a game you don't want to play

Bah, why not? Games that force hardware upgrades are teh kewl.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2010, 10:47 PM
Technokat's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London Ontario
Posts: 517

My System Specs

Default

i agree, this was one of those games that came out from left field. Its better than it should be. I definitely see a sequel coming. The game is based off a novel by some popular Russian author. So it has some chops as far as the background and setting is concerned. I love the scenes in the town/camps. I havn't seen a game in a long time that tries to strive for that lived in realism feeling that metro has. Its fairly obvious the makers of the game were in love with what they were doing. As far as the guns are concerned. Everything is supposed to be hodgepodged together, and low quality ammo is used as they have to make it themselves. Thus things are just not as reliable and accurate as you would expect. There is the ability to do one shot kills, but you need to make sure you hit the head etc. Most monsters can absorb a lot of bullets if you are not hitting in sensitive areas.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 08:24 AM
tri5cui7's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sackville, N.B.
Posts: 181

My System Specs

Default

This game looks crazy, but I'm still a bit tentative about whether I'll pick it up or not. I'm not a big fan of games that require complete overhauls of systems just for one game.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 08:38 AM
Mobile_Crysis's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ohio - USA
Posts: 37

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tri5cui7 View Post
This game looks crazy, but I'm still a bit tentative about whether I'll pick it up or not. I'm not a big fan of games that require complete overhauls of systems just for one game.
Well, looking at your system, I think you'd be able to run it just fine! Maybe up the RAM, but that's all I can see!
__________________
Gaming PC:
AMD Phenom II X4 810
GIGABYTE GA-790FXTA-UD5
G.Skill Ripjaw Series 8 GB DDR3 1600 PC12800
1 x Sapphire HD 5850 (2 when the price drops)
Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal!ty Edition
2 x Western Digital Black 500 GB
LG DVD Burner with Lightscribe
Coolermaster Sniper Black edition
Corsair AX750 Modular PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64 Bit
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 09:24 AM
Full Speed's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mount Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 811

My System Specs

Default

How much ram does this game actually eat up while running?
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 11:26 AM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 598

My System Specs

Default

This is how it looks on my rig.

Name:  metro2003.jpg
Views: 183
Size:  125.8 KB
__________________
If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 11:33 AM
tri5cui7's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sackville, N.B.
Posts: 181

My System Specs

Default

what are you're settings?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes