Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2010, 05:11 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,598

My System Specs

Default Steam Offline Mode not working

I switched to Steam Offline mode to play a game while my g/f uses steam to play online and it wont let me, keeps telling me it needs an internet connection to play in offline mode (this never happened before). Also wont work if i manually disconnect from the internet and try to run in either modes either. Anyone got an idea on how i can either force steam to run or play DoW2 or ME2 without steam running since i'd like to continue to play either of them right now while the g/f plays L4D2
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2010, 07:02 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

yea, isnt working for me either atm
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2010, 07:05 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

offline mode trouble - Page 2 - Steam Users' Forums

they are gonna fix it asap
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2011, 01:12 PM
On2wheels's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ontario
Posts: 990
Default

Does offline mode work for anyone yet?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2011, 07:58 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,076

My System Specs

Default

Yes, it works fine for me. I just checked it.

Also you did notice that this thread is 1 and a half years old right?
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2011, 09:20 AM
On2wheels's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ontario
Posts: 990
Default

Thanks for checking. Something just occurred to me that might explain why mine isn't working: When I formatted my pc last time, I don't think I installed Steam like a normal program, instead I may have just ran the .exe from it's own partition and let it run how it wants to, could that be the cause?

And no I didn't realize this thread was so old, it's just that there's so many threads in the Valve forums it's as if they don't care about this issue. From the look of the number of threads there, it's a common problem, so why isn't it getting more attention? My internet went out for 10hrs on monday, and Steam wouldn't start in offline mode.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2011, 09:30 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,598

My System Specs

Default

I wouldn't be able to tell you as steam doesn't work on my system at all anymore. Oddly it started with offline mode not working a few months go to it not even loading/installing steam (see my other thread on it). Hope it works for you, Valve support is abysmal.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2011, 06:51 AM
On2wheels's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ontario
Posts: 990
Default

I was able to find Valve's faq on Offline mode, and following that (enabling 'remember password') I was able to get it to work on my laptop again. Next I'll try my Win7 box with password remember checked off, though I'm not a fan of that feature.

edit: OK, confirmed it does work with your password remembered. One glitch: if the main steam window is in "small mode" you won't see the confirmation dialog box when you try to go online or off. Clicking the main window should make it show up, otherwise it appears as if Steam is hung up.

Last edited by On2wheels; August 28, 2011 at 10:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
God Mode! BT! O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 January 7, 2010 07:56 PM
Win 7 in xp mode Kilauea O/S's, Drivers & General Software 12 November 12, 2009 12:58 PM
IE stuck in offline mode + msn dialup = no internet connection sswilson Networking 1 August 16, 2009 01:27 AM
gtx275 stuck in 3d mode somecanadianguy Video Cards 0 June 21, 2009 11:41 AM
Computer Will Post but can't get in any OS MODE v0maru Troubleshooting 10 November 9, 2008 12:02 PM