Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2010, 09:12 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,358

My System Specs

Default Local Network gaming problems

Hi, I am haivng some problems starting a game with my cousin who happens to be sitting right next to me while I have managed to start games with people over in Europe and I don't know where without problems.

The game is Heroes of Might and Magic V: Tribes of the East (for those interested), it is played throughout Ubisoft's crappy servers. Basicly we are both connected to the same router via Ethernet cable, so unless I am wrong, everything should work right there. However, it did not. So we tried running it with Hamachi on which is what I was using to play against strangers. Basicly I am unable to connect to the game with him. When I tried to ping him through Hamachi it timed out.

We are both using Win7, is there any other information I should give ?
Other than I feel I am about to be violent.

*** Updates on the situation for those reading this for the first time ***

I have managed to start a multiplayer game when using my computer and my father's computer which both are on the same network. Mine is wired to the router and his is wirelessly connected. Doing so, I have used my steam account as well as my cousin's account.

I have also tried to do it with my cousin's computer and my father's, with the same problems. This leads me to believe the problem lies between the router and my cousin's computer, but I am unable to pin point anything wrong. I have done his Win7 install without changing much, like I did for my built and my father's built.

Last edited by Kilauea; February 26, 2010 at 08:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2010, 12:04 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,728

My System Specs

Default

Is the game designed to be able to play head-to-head over a local area network (doesn't need an internet connection)? If not, then the problem more than likely is with the server not allowing two instances of the game to be run from the same IP. Your modem only has one external address even though the router can discriminate between PCs connected on your internal network.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2010, 12:51 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,358

My System Specs

Default

How would I get to know that ? And why in the bloody hell would they want to do that ?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2010, 01:12 AM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default

not want to, more of a difficulty in doing so. I had the same problem when I was trying to play WoW with my friend on my laptop on the same network. one of us could connect just fine but as soon as the other connected we would both start lagging out and getting disconnected from the server.
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2010, 03:01 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,358

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bissa View Post
not want to, more of a difficulty in doing so. I had the same problem when I was trying to play WoW with my friend on my laptop on the same network. one of us could connect just fine but as soon as the other connected we would both start lagging out and getting disconnected from the server.
What was your solution to it ?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2010, 03:03 AM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default

never actually found one, it is a matter of the router getting confused and the servers on the other end getting confused as well so it all slows down and you get booted or get some horrendous lag. my suggestion would be to find an open wireless network in range and use that.
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2010, 07:37 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 777

My System Specs

Default

For WoW I find this pretty weird... we had at more then 1 occasion 10 people at a LAN party playing WoW all on the same said. Never had lag issues.
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2010, 11:17 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,358

My System Specs

Default

I know it can be played over the same network because someone else already experienced it. I asked on a forum for this game regarding the problem and still no answer.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2010, 11:24 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 608
Default

I've never played this but here's my 2 cents. You probably need ports opened in your router to make him accessible via Hamachi. If it's just the 2 of you playing can you connect to each other locally? Does this same issue happen when he's not connected to the same router? I don't know if he lives there or not.
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2010, 11:56 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,358

My System Specs

Default

Hamachi is a program to simulate a network. We have never played when we were not conntected to the same router, but others said it worked. I have also tried without hamachi, because we are on the same network afterall, but its no go.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Backplate (local) DenisS Buy/Sell & Trade 2 September 23, 2009 09:57 AM
[WTB] Gaming Laptop/ Notebook (Local) wonton1017 Buy/Sell & Trade 4 August 24, 2009 02:00 PM
Problems with Vista Network and Sharing Cranky Networking 4 June 11, 2009 12:06 PM
[WTB] Local 9800GX2 sabermetrics Buy/Sell & Trade 7 February 7, 2009 02:30 PM
Legit Reviews on Killer NIC and Killer K1 gaming network cards Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 April 13, 2007 04:13 PM