Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 10:20 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default Would this work ???

If I was to put 2x GTX 260 Core 216 on a MSI 790FX-GD70 board to fold, could I still game without any hickups or problems?
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 10:22 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

If you paused F@H while gaming, yes.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 10:25 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
If you paused F@H while gaming, yes.
Excellent. Maybe I should just Pm you my questions. lol !!!
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2010, 09:46 AM
dragoonxx's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Medicine Hat
Posts: 420
Default

I fold on my 8800GT and just pause it when im doing anything semi graphics intensive...there used to be some games I could play without even pausing it with little difference, but then I got my new monitor, and that went out the window
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2010, 11:52 AM
Raserei408's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South of the border
Posts: 495
Default

+1, I did the same thing before I got a 5770.

Side-question; is there an ATI folding client? I'd love to get back to folding, but to my knowledge I can't on a 5770.
__________________
"If dancing is sure to result in failure then you must dance anyway."
Lo Mein said that, and I think he knows a little more about dancing than I do pal, because he invented it! Then he perfected it so that no man could best him in the club of honor.
Then he used his prize money to buy two of every whore on Earth. Then he herded them all onto a boat, then they all beat the crap out of every single one of him.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2010, 12:00 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,604

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyhorsejohnny View Post
If I was to put 2x GTX 260 Core 216 on a MSI 790FX-GD70 board to fold, could I still game without any hickups or problems?
If you cpu fold as well i've found the GTX260s in sli will cause some system lag when just using it for say web browsing or basic programs. To cut down on this lag i will fold non-sli and if i am playing a game that i want to run at full gpu specs i will close vmware (safety reason otherwise it will get killed closed), turn off/pause folding, enable sli,reopen vmware so the cpu can fold when i'm gaming, game, done gaming close vwmare, disable sli, turn on all folding (restart vmware).
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2010, 12:33 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
If you cpu fold as well i've found the GTX260s in sli will cause some system lag when just using it for say web browsing or basic programs. To cut down on this lag i will fold non-sli and if i am playing a game that i want to run at full gpu specs i will close vmware (safety reason otherwise it will get killed closed), turn off/pause folding, enable sli,reopen vmware so the cpu can fold when i'm gaming, game, done gaming close vwmare, disable sli, turn on all folding (restart vmware).
I can't SLI on my board. So is it a problem to play games with 2x GTX 260s non SLI?
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2010, 12:41 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,140

My System Specs

Default

Your games will only run on the 1st Nvidia GPU on a non-SLI board. I have 2 GTX285's. For games that aren't heavily graphics demanding, I disable SLI, leave the 2nd card folding, and play on the 1st card.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2010, 12:43 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,604

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Your games will only run on the 1st Nvidia GPU on a non-SLI board. I have 2 GTX285's. For games that aren't heavily graphics demanding, I disable SLI, leave the 2nd card folding, and play on the 1st card.
I find the cpu folds better (lower tpf on big adv wus) with sli disabled compared to being enabled. But yeah i will still fold on 1 gpu in non-sli if the game doesnt need it
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2010, 12:48 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,140

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
I find the cpu folds better (lower tpf on big adv wus) with sli disabled compared to being enabled. But yeah i will still fold on 1 gpu in non-sli if the game doesnt need it
I should say that I usually have SLI disabled, and only enable it for certain games. Heck, for Torchlight I don't even stop the VM. It's not many games I feel I need the 2nd 285 on, and I never would have bought a 2nd one for myself. Thanks for the folding contests HWC!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you think it will work kendallcschm Power Supplies 61 November 25, 2009 10:10 PM
F@H does not work? Sushi Warrior HardwareCanucks F@H Team 37 October 29, 2009 04:52 PM
Will This Work? Infiniti Video Cards 2 July 21, 2008 12:54 PM
Will This Work? stormkiller22 Troubleshooting 9 March 5, 2008 06:02 PM
Will this all work? Infiniti Water Cooling 11 January 8, 2008 10:50 PM