Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2010, 10:38 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

I use Tversity, works perfectly for me. I have one server of music and one for video on a different PC. Made my media PC obsolete really.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2010, 08:15 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
I think my box is beefy enough, it was a bandwidth thing for me. Takes me 3 minutes to put something on a USB key and walk across the basement. Problem solved.
Haha, ya you could do that but it's more convenient just to turn on the PS3 and have your whole library there for you to choose from. And ya 1080p if you're wired should be no problem, but I was talking about over wireless. External hard drive would be a good choice to keep all your movies/audio on so you could just move it from your computer to ps3 when you want to watch or listen to stuff. But then again your limited to using your media library on whichever device the hdd is attached to at the time. 500gb 2.5" hdd's are also cheap these days, been thinking of putting one in my PS3 or at least a 250gb. Yup lots of ways to get your media on PS3.

I also agree with being able to listen to music while performing other tasks on the ps3 but even when you're on the PS store you can't view XMB it makes you exit first.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 11:04 AM
nige's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kitchener, On
Posts: 220

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by headsh0t View Post
And ya 1080p if you're wired should be no problem, but I was talking about over wireless.
ja, i initially tried to do it via wireless, but it kept dropping the connection. I decided to run a network cable across the house under the floor and it works great now
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5 - AMD 1090T B.E. - Palit 4850 - 4x2GB Muskin 6400 - PC P&C Quad 750w - 500G WD Black - 500G + 250G WD Caviar - Xonar D2 - Win7 - Antec Sonata - Z680
Macbook Pro 13" - Intel CD2 2.53ghz - 4GB DDR3 - OSX 10.6.1
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 11:59 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

if you want to stream wirelessly it can't be anything higher than dvd quality as anything higher you will get serious lag. There just isn't the bandwidth (you may still get stuttering even with a DVD quality).

if you want full HD quality wired or a usb HDD.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stream to a .... what? CMetaphor HTPC Systems & Software 26 September 22, 2009 11:25 AM
AMD Announces Stream Computing Will Be Mainstream yamawho O/S's, Drivers & General Software 8 November 14, 2008 12:16 PM
Do nto use the latest ATI Unified Stream Driver Gameplaywarrior O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 October 3, 2008 08:39 PM
440GTX: dual stream Hi-Def video for less than $70 Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 0 May 30, 2008 07:00 PM
Scythe Slip Stream Kaze Jyuni stormkiller22 Troubleshooting 4 March 8, 2008 03:10 PM