Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2010, 04:23 PM
vulcan500rider's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 498

My System Specs

Default

Just a quick update--it looks like it's not the processor, as it has the same problem with the Q9550. I guess I should have known, as it claims a "network error."
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2010, 07:09 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

I should mention that I cannot stream HD over the wireless G connection using Tversity. It's a bandwidth issue. Regular Divx files work fine.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2010, 07:19 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,586

My System Specs

Default

I'm not sure you can stream 1080p over wireless N either (at least not bluray) due to bandwidth issue as well
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2010, 07:27 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
I should mention that I cannot stream HD over the wireless G connection using Tversity. It's a bandwidth issue. Regular Divx files work fine.
Heh heh ya it wouldn't stream over wireless for me using any media server. :(
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2010, 08:01 PM
vulcan500rider's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 498

My System Specs

Default

Very true; playing the MKVs at all was a no-go using wireless. I swapped to wired for that very reason.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2010, 09:05 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
I should mention that I cannot stream HD over the wireless G connection using Tversity. It's a bandwidth issue. Regular Divx files work fine.
I'd been using TVersity with Vista and it worked great over wireless G. I could stream 720p to the PS3 and if it started lagging I would just pause it for like 30 seconds and then it would work fine. 1080p is another story... I haven't been able to get TVersity working with Windows 7 though... Maybe I'll try PS3 media server this time.

Last edited by headsh0t; January 7, 2010 at 09:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2010, 10:10 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by headsh0t View Post
I'd been using TVersity with Vista and it worked great over wireless G. I could stream 720p to the PS3 and if it started lagging I would just pause it for like 30 seconds and then it would work fine. 1080p is another story... I haven't been able to get TVersity working with Windows 7 though... Maybe I'll try PS3 media server this time.
Tversity if I recall is extremely CPU heavy and if you lack a beefy machine lag can happen.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2010, 11:59 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

I think my box is beefy enough, it was a bandwidth thing for me. Takes me 3 minutes to put something on a USB key and walk across the basement. Problem solved.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2010, 09:18 AM
nige's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kitchener, On
Posts: 220

My System Specs

Default

i've sucessfully used PS3 media server to stream a HD (1080p) movie from my computer to the PS3. I have the PS3 plugged into the back of my router. Sometimes the sound goes off, but as another member mentionned, if you pause the movie for a moment and resume, the sound lines up again.

I wish the PS3 would allow you to play music in the background while you are doing something else on the PS3 (sending messages, browsing store etc.)
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5 - AMD 1090T B.E. - Palit 4850 - 4x2GB Muskin 6400 - PC P&C Quad 750w - 500G WD Black - 500G + 250G WD Caviar - Xonar D2 - Win7 - Antec Sonata - Z680
Macbook Pro 13" - Intel CD2 2.53ghz - 4GB DDR3 - OSX 10.6.1
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2010, 09:27 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nige View Post
i've sucessfully used PS3 media server to stream a HD (1080p) movie from my computer to the PS3. I have the PS3 plugged into the back of my router. Sometimes the sound goes off, but as another member mentionned, if you pause the movie for a moment and resume, the sound lines up again.

I wish the PS3 would allow you to play music in the background while you are doing something else on the PS3 (sending messages, browsing store etc.)
Agreed. This would be a great feature. Happened to me a few times over the holidays. I was using my PS3 to stream music from my PC when I had guests over. Then I'd want to just get back into the XMB to browse the store, show a photo, or even get into a demo or game. I can understand about maybe not being able to stream music while playing a game. But just getting back to the XMB or hopping on PSN shouldn't force you to quit streaming music.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stream to a .... what? CMetaphor HTPC Systems & Software 26 September 22, 2009 10:25 AM
AMD Announces Stream Computing Will Be Mainstream yamawho O/S's, Drivers & General Software 8 November 14, 2008 11:16 AM
Do nto use the latest ATI Unified Stream Driver Gameplaywarrior O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 October 3, 2008 07:39 PM
440GTX: dual stream Hi-Def video for less than $70 Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 0 May 30, 2008 06:00 PM
Scythe Slip Stream Kaze Jyuni stormkiller22 Troubleshooting 4 March 8, 2008 02:10 PM