Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2007, 07:30 PM
Mibs's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. John's, NL
Posts: 311
Default 360 with VGA adapter on 22" lcd looks like crap!

Alright so I just got a new Samsung Syncmaster 226bw 22" widescreen lcd for my pc. Since the TV I use for my 360 is a 20" piece of crap, I thought it would look nicer on my new monitor. So I picked up the vga adapter, turn on Halo 3, and there are jaggies everywhere! It's like there is no anti-aliasing. I have tried different combinations of resolutions but nothing works. 1680x1050 isn't one of the choices so I don't know what to do. Any suggestions?
__________________
Intel C2D E6750 @ 3.52 GHz // EVGA 680i SLI Rev. A1 (P31) // 4 GB OCZ Platinum 800 MHz 4-4-4-15 // PC P&C Silencer 750 Quad // Antec P180 // EVGA 8800 GTS 512 // Samsung Syncmaster 226bw 22" LCD

WC Loop: D-Tek Fuzion V2 // Danger Den Maze 5 // Swiftech MCP655 // Swiftech MicroRes // Thermochill PA 120.2 + 4 x Noctua NF-P12
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2007, 04:05 AM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,901

My System Specs

Default

well if you check what resolution the games are suppose to be running at. Most are 720p (1280 x 720). If it is like Halo 3 then you can run it up to 1920 x 1080 which is very beautiful. You just need to know what they can be run at.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2007, 07:41 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,815

My System Specs

Default

A 22" LCD runs 1680x1050 (16:10). The 360 will do 720p (1280x720) which is 16:9. Clearly theres some problems already. The aspect ratio is different, thus things will look "taller" and it'll be all blurry cause 720p isn't even close to the native resolution of the LCD.

Unfortunately thats just how LCDs are. If you don't run native resolution, it looks pretty bad. Higher-end LCDs do have the option to fix the aspect ratio to whatever the input source is and not "stretch" it to fill the screen. Then you'd just get a smaller "window" in the middle of the screen with black borders of the 360 but at least it would be sharp. That Samsung does not do this though.

Basically get a HDTV if you want 360 to look nice.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dvi to Hdmi adapter? cdn_Madrach HTPC Systems & Software 12 October 24, 2007 10:46 AM
For crap sake Scratch O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 August 4, 2007 09:55 AM
Another problem with my crap pc..!!! r0k0 Troubleshooting 22 March 20, 2007 09:23 AM
New PSU? or an Adapter? mattydies CPU's and Motherboards 6 March 17, 2007 02:25 PM