Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2009, 12:10 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cold Lake , Alberta , Canada
Posts: 327
Default GTA 4 on PC.

Ok here's the deal. I had been playing this game on a 24 inch monitor @ 1920X1200 up until now. I purchased a 3008WFP monitor.

I had left the resolution in game at 1920X1200 while using the 30inch monitor. I noticed that after 45mins to an hour of playtime the game would crash with no error msgs. I decided to bump the resolution to 2560X1600. I didn't get any more crashes afterward but I was getting low FPS. I did a few benchmarks tests and everything maxed out I was getting 38FPS @ 2560X1600. Then I decided to keep the resolution but lower everything else to the lowest. I did another benchmark and I was getting 42FPS. There's a few videos on YT of people maxing out the game at my resolution with no FPS problems.
Specs wise I got a core I7 920 @ 4.3ghz with a Visiontek 4870x2 and an XFX 4870x2 in CF. 12Gb of ram and I use Vista ultimate x64 SP2.

I'm kinda puzzled as to why I'm not getting better performance than that because from my understanding.. Vcards like those are best at very high resolution.

Can somebody help me out?
__________________
Gaming Rig
Core i5 4670k 3.4ghz
EVGA GTX 780 3Gb Classified
Dell U3011 + Yamakasi Sparta 301
Asus Z87-A
12GB Dominator 1800
Samsung 840 pro 256gb
Corsair HSX 1000watts
Mountain Mod UFO-U2
Razer Deathadder 2014
Logitech G510
Asus Xonar Essence STX
Sennheisers PC360
2 X 150GB Raptor X RAID 0



Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2009, 12:56 PM
TimTheEnchanter's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 841
Default

Sorry to be so unhelpful, but it's easy, GTAIV is the worse coded pc game.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2009, 01:18 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,883

My System Specs

Default

Yeah not much I can suggest either.

Make sure the game is fully up-to-date, if you're using a cracked copy maybe that's the issue. Maybe try disabling Crossfire? Or updating your drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2009, 02:58 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cold Lake , Alberta , Canada
Posts: 327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
Yeah not much I can suggest either.

Make sure the game is fully up-to-date, if you're using a cracked copy maybe that's the issue. Maybe try disabling Crossfire? Or updating your drivers.


Drivers are fully updated.. and I have a legit copy. I see people playing with SLI'ed 260's 280's and 285's getting way higher FPS than me.. Guess it's time to upgrade again :S
__________________
Gaming Rig
Core i5 4670k 3.4ghz
EVGA GTX 780 3Gb Classified
Dell U3011 + Yamakasi Sparta 301
Asus Z87-A
12GB Dominator 1800
Samsung 840 pro 256gb
Corsair HSX 1000watts
Mountain Mod UFO-U2
Razer Deathadder 2014
Logitech G510
Asus Xonar Essence STX
Sennheisers PC360
2 X 150GB Raptor X RAID 0



Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2009, 03:05 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,902
Default

Buy a console...not much you can do to run it better.
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2009, 03:14 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cold Lake , Alberta , Canada
Posts: 327
Default

I have it for both PS3 and Xbox 360. It's more fun to play Multiplayer on PC.
__________________
Gaming Rig
Core i5 4670k 3.4ghz
EVGA GTX 780 3Gb Classified
Dell U3011 + Yamakasi Sparta 301
Asus Z87-A
12GB Dominator 1800
Samsung 840 pro 256gb
Corsair HSX 1000watts
Mountain Mod UFO-U2
Razer Deathadder 2014
Logitech G510
Asus Xonar Essence STX
Sennheisers PC360
2 X 150GB Raptor X RAID 0



Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2009, 04:31 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,922

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by implosion222 View Post
I have it for both PS3 and Xbox 360. It's more fun to play Multiplayer on PC.
Ya I was playing it with one of my friends yesterday and we played for like 5 hours straight and only in free play mode.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2009, 04:45 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cold Lake , Alberta , Canada
Posts: 327
Default

I too play in free mode. It's a great time. A buddy and I get on Skype then fire up GTA4 for some mad driving once or twice a week.
__________________
Gaming Rig
Core i5 4670k 3.4ghz
EVGA GTX 780 3Gb Classified
Dell U3011 + Yamakasi Sparta 301
Asus Z87-A
12GB Dominator 1800
Samsung 840 pro 256gb
Corsair HSX 1000watts
Mountain Mod UFO-U2
Razer Deathadder 2014
Logitech G510
Asus Xonar Essence STX
Sennheisers PC360
2 X 150GB Raptor X RAID 0



Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2009, 04:51 PM
Dar_ell's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vaughan,Ontario
Posts: 501

My System Specs

Default

Possibly the game doesn't like crossfire? I have no clue, With your hardware you shouldn't be having those numbers. Anyways i hope you get this matter fixed!
__________________
"My brother is dead. He's not here Anymore. But on my back, and in my heart...He lives on in me. I will make a hole through heaven itself, even if that hole becomes my grave. As long as I break through, I will be victorious.Who the **** do you think I am?"
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2009, 05:46 PM
TimTheEnchanter's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 841
Default

I really think game is so badly coded that such low fps is normal even with such a computer.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTA LAN Rusty Bridges Canadian LAN Parties & Events 4 February 22, 2010 07:02 PM
GTA IV remapping ? upcoast604 Gaming 3 April 1, 2009 08:17 AM
GTA 4 WOOO000000000000TTTtttT shayan288 Gaming 104 January 23, 2009 02:27 PM
[FS] GTA IV Alwaysrun Buy/Sell & Trade 3 December 21, 2008 05:11 PM
PC Retailer in GTA michael_D New Builds 9 October 9, 2008 08:13 PM