Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
View Poll Results: Include S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Call of Pripyat benchmark in HWC video cards reviews?
Yes 18 90.00%
Nope 2 10.00%
Voters: 20. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2009, 02:17 AM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 599

My System Specs

Default Include S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Call of Pripyat benchmark in HWC video cards reviews?

Here is the benchmark.
IMO it worth to add it. It would be interesting to see DX11 with Tessellation on newest ATI cards...
__________________
If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2009, 01:57 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

I try to download the bench...not connection I will retry latter... I guess you need the game for the bench...no problem in my case
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 12:08 AM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 599

My System Specs

Default

Ops, try here. You don't need the game is a standalone benchmark.
I've tried 2 runs on my system. One with everything on max including Advanced options (SSAO Mode HDAO) and I receive this.

Name:  stalker_max.jpg
Views: 380
Size:  61.3 KB

Then on second run with Advanced options Off I receive this

Name:  stalker_max_without_advanced.jpg
Views: 398
Size:  104.0 KB

All I can say is that I've played the game with a modified user.ltx and in-game settings were close to first run but it was perfect playable.
__________________
If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 05:07 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

downloading ..... I will make the test tonight, I also play at full detail and it's very much playable. will see for a 4890 ..and if not satisfy I will fire a second one ine crossfire
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 06:08 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,764
Default

I voted no.

I have been using the benchmark for the better part of a week now alongside the German version of the game. I can tell you that the benchmark itself is in no way indicative of real-world gameplay performance which means it will probably never be included in our charts. HOWEVER, I fully intend to include CoP in reviews once the North American version is released.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 06:16 AM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 599

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
I can tell you that the benchmark itself is in no way indicative of real-world gameplay performance which means it will probably never be included in our charts.
Yep, I agree. I saw this myself yesterday. Unfortunately it was after I put this poll.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
HOWEVER, I fully intend to include CoP in reviews once the North American version is released.
OK, then it's perfect.
Disregard/lock this topic, now it looks useless.
__________________
If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 09:13 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
I voted no.

I have been using the benchmark for the better part of a week now alongside the German version of the game. I can tell you that the benchmark itself is in no way indicative of real-world gameplay performance which means it will probably never be included in our charts. HOWEVER, I fully intend to include CoP in reviews once the North American version is released.
Does the actual game perform better or worse than the benchmark (I'm guessing worse)?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 11:07 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Catharines, ON
Posts: 315

My System Specs

Default

Still, I'm going to grab this once I get my PC plugged back in (moved last week to a new house). Even though it's not indicative of REAL gameplay, it's always nice to have a stand alone bench to run to see what effect any adjustments you make to your hardware will have.

Cheers!
Happy_Canuck :)
__________________
Se moquer de la philosophie, c'est vraiment philosopher. - Blaise Pascal
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 11:08 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

will tell you that tonight , but the game perform very well with max detail at 1920x1200 on a radeon 4890.. but those bloods suc..... and snorks are a way more hard to kill than in the 2 firsts releases

Last edited by MarkOne; November 19, 2009 at 11:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 12:19 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,764
Default

Where did you get your copy?
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modern Warfare 2 - HWC Benchmark or Not? Surfer_2099 Gaming 109 November 15, 2009 12:28 AM
S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Call of Pripyat Efx Gaming 12 October 29, 2009 06:54 AM
To Include 3DMark Vantage testing or not with GPU reviews?? SKYMTL Video Cards 37 May 7, 2008 08:47 AM
Call of Juarez DirectX 10 Benchmark DurkaDurka Gaming 0 June 9, 2007 12:37 AM
24 ATI Radeon PCI-E Video Cards Benchmarked by Legit Reviews Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 9 March 30, 2007 06:12 AM