Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
View Poll Results: Should Hardware Canucks Include Modern Warfare 2 in it's benchmarks?
Yes. It should be included. 23 19.66%
No. It should not be included. 94 80.34%
Voters: 117. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2009, 10:06 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by odis172 View Post
Hmm the engine is upgraded, i have noticed its using 4 cpu cores as opposed to 2 for cod4, not sure of my fps though, no console to enable that. Gotta dig out the old fraps looks like

you're a traitor btw. if your pc breaks... you can go play on your console.

Btw. your FPS <= 60. always.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2009, 10:19 AM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

Another question to be asked... Don't the current benchmarks just run a demo recorded by one of the reviewers? Assuming that is the case, how will one record and play back demos with the lack of a console unless IW has opted to add a special menu for this, and based on how poorly they are treating PC gamers I'd guess there is not one. A benchmark without one set standard is completely pointless, and based on that alone this game shouldn't be included. And since this game uses pretty much the same engine as CoD4 and WaW, people who are interested in MW2 performance can simply look at CoD4 and WaW benchmarks to get a fairly good idea.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2009, 10:38 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Ultra-Realistic Modern Warfare Game Features Awaiting Orders, Repairing Trucks | The Onion - America's Finest News Source
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2009, 10:55 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Catharines, ON
Posts: 315

My System Specs

Default

First off... That video was laugh out loud funny. Thanks for that!

I took a bit of time and looked up some early reviews online and have read that the game is well done and that the graphics are improved over Modern Warfare. That said, all the review I have read have made a point to mention that IW set up the PC game exactly the same as the Console versions because they wanted everyone to have the same gaming experience regardless of platforms. (Is that sincere or simply spin... you decide.)

As for the benchmarks, I suppose you'd have to use FRAPS or some similar 3rd party app to capture the frames and the gameplay video. I can't claim to know what to do with a game that has no benchmarking tools.

Cheers!
Pensive_Canuck :)
__________________
Se moquer de la philosophie, c'est vraiment philosopher. - Blaise Pascal
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2009, 11:01 AM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

Ya you can get the FPS from Fraps or similar tools, but even if they play the exact same section of gameplay it may still vary greatly. Maybe when they are doing one card, the AI players throw 8 grenades, but then with the next card they only throw 2. Things like that will cause so much error in the results that they will be almost useless for comparing hardware that is similar in performance. Demos allow you to record gameplay and then go back and rewatch is as though it was being played live. That way they can use the exact same thing for each piece of hardware so that the only variation in their testing is different hardware and drivers.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2009, 12:05 PM
dragoonxx's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Medicine Hat
Posts: 414
Default

but there's no ingame record function on MW2 either
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2009, 01:13 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,047
Default

Ultra-Realistic Modern Warfare Game Features Awaiting Orders, Repairing Trucks | The Onion - America's Finest News Source


Somewhat fitting...
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2009, 01:17 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,645
Default

WAW didn't have a built-in timedemo recorder either. I use a walkthrough.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2009, 01:37 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Ah, I love the Onion.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2009, 02:13 PM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
you're a traitor btw. if your pc breaks... you can go play on your console.

Btw. your FPS <= 60. always.

heh, ive never owned a console.. except for a nec super cdrom 12 years ago.

After playing online for 5 hours, i do greatly enjoy it, sure theres a few things im pissed about, but they're not a game breaker. Besides the negative things about not having a console, its going to equalize the experience, so you dont have uninformed players against guys running around with increased field of view, decreased textures which allow you to see through some objects, and maxfps increased which allows you to jump higher, (all allowed by punkbuster.) Not having dedicated servers is very poor, its going to make recruiting in my clan exponentially more difficult then in cod4. Also i dont know if its possible to play your favorite map over and over. On the upside steam makes it very easy to join a friend's game and chat with people without having to minimize. What im interested to see is how the steam vac or "valve anticheat" performs, as with punkbuster i suspect it kicks more people that arent hacking then those that are! I had always played on pb enabled servers since release and see a few blatant hackers a week. Headshot, headshot headshot, and this is after pb and iw has had 2 years to patch glitches and exploits, not to mention how many that were hacking discreetly. Hopefully vac performs better. Also, like it or not, it is going to be very popular and hopefully newcomers to hwc will drop by to read hardware reviews that include it.

Please dont HS me for poking my head up with a positive word
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Petition against Modern Warfare 2 for PC Polygon Gaming 59 October 22, 2009 05:09 PM
Modern Warfare 2 prestige edition tec}{ine Gaming 18 September 3, 2009 02:46 AM
HWC lan party [Games&Benchmark list] &RSVP Thread Cowboy Off Topic 6 August 10, 2009 02:56 PM
Modern Warfare 2, confirmed and dated! Confirm cries of glee... llama_egg Gaming 24 March 28, 2009 08:49 AM
COD :Modern Warfare 2! ~OFFICIAL!~ TwystedMonkey Gaming 6 December 7, 2008 01:11 PM