Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 04:24 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default fallout 3 saves.. gone?

yea, so after not playing fallout 3 for a while, i bought xbox live points so i could buy the next expansion for it.. i was max lvl (20 for my version), with amazingly good karma, full power suits (tesla), plasma rifles and just about every item in game (legitimately), and to my dismay, when i opened up the game, there was no "continue" or "load" option. i tried signing out of live, still wasn't there, tried signing in, couldnt find it. what do i do? this sucks. this is what is in my saves file for fallout but when i do a search in the search area, this shows up is there anyway to recover this, i just cant get it to work
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /


Last edited by BrianHanna; October 5, 2009 at 04:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 05:29 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: 5105' N 11405' W
Posts: 434

My System Specs

Default

Doesn't GFW Live keep a record of the saves in it's own save directory? I'll need to check mine when I get home to my desktop. You may want to search for a 'Live' folder on your primary 'C' partition.

Fwiw, I feel the whole Fallout 3 DLC for PC has been poorly executed from a end-user standpoint. It's very confusing how it's all installed and handled. I had problems with both the digital download and store-bought expansions. When the GotY edition comes out next week for the 360 I'm buying that and be done with it.
__________________
System Spec Peripherals: Corsair H70 cpu cooler (w/ 2 120mm Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850rpm fans) | Zalman MFC3 fan controller | Gigabyte Aivia Osmium kb | Steelseries Sensei mouse | Logitech Z-2300 2.1 speakers | SteelSeries SX mouse surface
For the real serious stuff: 2.53GHz Mac Mini | 4GB DDR3 1066 RAM | 320GB HDD | Samsung P2250 (x2) | Apple Magic Mouse | Apple Magic Trackpad | Apple Wireless KB | Drobo FS 6.5TB
Laptops: Dell XPS M1530 | Asus G74SX-DH71
Surface Pro 128GB
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 05:32 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

it isnt the dlc that caused it, before i installed the dlc, or even paid for it, when i opened fallout 3, i got the menu opened up and got the message "optimal settings loaded" or some crap. this is very annoying, i would have started the game over on hard or something, but still, it was such an amazing save.
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2009, 06:18 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

If you weren't logged into GFWL before then all your saved games are still saved but under a different directory, it is a known problem:

GameSpot Forums - Fallout 3 - Created LIVE Accoun Now All Saved Games Lost!
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fallout 3 goes French Mulder Gaming 8 February 15, 2010 01:15 PM
Activating Fallout 3 DLC Wolfx25 Gaming 4 July 8, 2009 12:52 PM
Fallout 3 Patches redwagon Gaming 4 June 20, 2009 06:36 PM
Fallout III - Getting Close. misterlarry Gaming 3 September 19, 2008 09:52 PM
Bios saves OC settings, loads stock speed Mr. Cipher Troubleshooting 3 November 8, 2007 01:09 PM