Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2007, 08:38 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default works in the demo

Thanks for that. Ill give it a go with the game. Mines 16:9 aspect so not true widescreen either. Not sure that ive ever seen a true widescreen tv or display..must look like a domino. In doom i could use a command interface to customize my resolution, hopefully there will be a similiar interface to make tweaks to the engine etc. anyway I think i need an 8800 to really enjoy it on this monitor. Would also like to play it in black and white as i find being color blind makes it tough to see the characters against the backgrounds at times
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2007, 09:20 AM
Amon's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719

My System Specs

Default

The widescreen fiasco isn't really an issue at all. I'm surprised that so many people online would make such a fit out of it. Their widescreen implementation is perfect the way it is. It shouldn't be looked at as a gameplay issue when there is no multiplayer segment for it to be considered 'unfair'.

Remastered movies have been doing this for years and no one has ever said anything about that...

The game will probably run better on a decent laptop than on my computer haha...
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2007, 10:28 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default youll probably need a good card in there

Hopefully youve worked out a good deal now..I wonder if theyll bring out an 8800 for a laptop soon.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2007, 08:48 AM
Amon's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719

My System Specs

Default

Lol.... Bioshock does not run on my computer in a playable sense. Apparently, it requires shader model 3.0 or later to navigate the main menu. There are already many petitions for a SM2.0 revision. :)
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2007, 09:04 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default righto

Oh I see, didnt think you were too interested in it anyway...although i would recommend..seems to be a little deeper than your average fps runabout.

Reminds me a bit of Hayao Miyazakis work at studio ghibli, with a bit of Alice through the looking glass thrown in. If your into multiplayer LAN type things im not sure how well it would sit. Anyluck with the laptop?
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2007, 10:30 AM
Amon's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, just working out what things to buy in the package and what to install myself. I'll just be spending the big bucks on the laptop's screen, CPU, and video card. The RAM I'll just install myself to save money (can you believe they charge $700 for 4GB?)
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2007, 10:33 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 169
Default

Yes I can....that's Dell.
__________________
3800X2@2.2GHz--2gb PC3200--200Gb Maxtor SATA2--eVga 8800GTS 320mb--eVga nForce4 SLI mobo--Klipsch 4.1--Antec nine hundred case w/Vantec 120mm on side--Vista Premium 64bit

Join our Folding@Home team!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2007, 10:06 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alliston, ON
Posts: 75
Default

I bought Bioshock about two weeks ago and I have already beat the game. I was impressed with the graphics first and fore most. However the custimizable plasmids etc. do make it more in-depth then your average fps. The story line was good as well. The game kind of plateaus though at about the 2/3'ds mark IMO, not a big deal realy but it does seem like the last 1/3 of the game could have been a bit better. Overall a really solid game and I normally don't like this type of game.

It ran smooth for me on all high @ 1608x1050 but I have a weird set up that manages to hold on (amd64 3700 @ 2.9 with a 8800GTS 640mb <-- saves my)

The crappy thing is that I bought it through the local EB games store with the intention of trading it in once I beat it, they won't buy this game back for some reason?
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2007, 10:15 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 169
Default

ya it's brand new.
__________________
3800X2@2.2GHz--2gb PC3200--200Gb Maxtor SATA2--eVga 8800GTS 320mb--eVga nForce4 SLI mobo--Klipsch 4.1--Antec nine hundred case w/Vantec 120mm on side--Vista Premium 64bit

Join our Folding@Home team!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2007, 05:58 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default they are very picky

i tried to sell HL2 but if it needs internet verification then they have issues. Still have not finished bioshock yet. Im not the best FPS player ever! Very atmospheric but i still get more of a kick out a good RTS game or trying to confuse deep fritz at chess...thats the best when you watch those algorithms grind to a halt!!!
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New 2K Studio rallying for Bioshock 2 Babrbarossa Gaming 5 December 4, 2007 11:19 AM