Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #141 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2012, 08:58 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 880
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
I can't wait......for the Enhanced Edition to completely break the game like all of the other updates initially did. :S
This is still the reason I havent bought it.
Reply With Quote
  #142 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2012, 09:02 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

Let's hope it fixes everything like the Witcher 1 EE.
Reply With Quote
  #143 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2012, 10:34 AM
On2wheels's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
I can't wait......for the Enhanced Edition to completely break the game like all of the other updates initially did. :S
It's a crapshoot really, for me there were no issues with any updates. Like most games, it probably comes down to hardware differences and (in my opinion) if you've done alot of Windoze Updates. Virtually every game I've tried has worked, with most problems stemming from previously installed software or from Windows Updates. (I try to run a barebones system anyway, nothing fancy) My current o/s and all future reinstalls of 7 will not have any MS updates.
You're really missing a great game if you skip it purely on the 'chance' it won't work out of the box. Believe me it will be worth it even on your next pc build.
Reply With Quote
  #144 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2012, 10:40 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 880
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by On2wheels View Post
It's a crapshoot really, for me there were no issues with any updates. Like most games, it probably comes down to hardware differences and (in my opinion) if you've done alot of Windoze Updates. Virtually every game I've tried has worked, with most problems stemming from previously installed software or from Windows Updates. (I try to run a barebones system anyway, nothing fancy) My current o/s and all future reinstalls of 7 will not have any MS updates.
You're really missing a great game if you skip it purely on the 'chance' it won't work out of the box. Believe me it will be worth it even on your next pc build.
did you get it on steam?
Reply With Quote
  #145 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2012, 10:41 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,835
Default

Do you own it on Steam? If not, you have no idea the issues Steam users have gone through with this game.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #146 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2012, 10:44 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,607

My System Specs

Default

I never had any issues with it, however I can't remember if i bought this on steam. I more then likely got it off of D2D, not 100% sure though.

Isn't steam starting to be notorious in releasing the wrong version of games?
Reply With Quote
  #147 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2012, 10:56 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,141

My System Specs

Default

If you don't own it yet, buy it from gog.com as it's DRM free. I didn't even have to re-install after my recent Windows pave and nuke. Witcher 2: Assassins Of Kings, The - GOG.com

Oh, and gog.com says the PC update is coming April 17th, and seeing as they are owned by CD Projekt Red (Witcher / Witcher 2 developer) I believe it.
Reply With Quote
  #148 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2012, 11:07 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,607

My System Specs

Default

Well I know what I'm hopefully playing around there. I need to start ME3... dammit this games backlog
Reply With Quote
  #149 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2012, 11:41 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 880
Default

So after i buy it, Do i put the Code in steam?
I dont want another Steam/origins program needed to run a game.
Reply With Quote
  #150 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2012, 12:36 PM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chromey View Post
So after i buy it, Do i put the Code in steam?
I dont want another Steam/origins program needed to run a game.
No but I dont think GOG has any other software. Just install via the installer like the old days when the installer was a disk.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Witcher -- Enhanced Edition Squeetard Gaming 29 March 23, 2009 06:15 PM
Kings Chilly Off Topic 5 March 17, 2009 05:33 PM
Xigmatek“s Achilles S1284 Vs. Thermalright Kings Nosferatu Member Reviews 12 June 26, 2008 04:37 AM