Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2009, 09:09 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 490
Default Crysis dx9 or dx10?

I just bought crysis maximum edition last week. I installed the crysis disc and have been playing single player mode. I'm wondering how to tell if it's in dx9 or dx 10 mode? I looked around options and didn't notice a setting for dx9/10.

Thanks
__________________
waiting for FX 8350 to arrive / Tuniq Tower 120/ R9 280X / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2009, 11:27 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,141

My System Specs

Default

Right click on it in the games folder. There will be an option to run in DX9 or DX10.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2009, 10:37 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,116

My System Specs

Default

I don't think DX10 is used unless you are playing on ultra high.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2009, 08:03 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 490
Default

I gave it a try and wasn't much difference so I'll just stick with dx9. Now I know were to find it, thanks again.
__________________
waiting for FX 8350 to arrive / Tuniq Tower 120/ R9 280X / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2009, 09:36 AM
kuddles's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 31
Default

It defaults to DX10 if you're running in Vista. If you want it to run in DX9 automatically, just add -dx9 at the end of the "target" line in your shortcut.
__________________
Your favourite game of last year was over-rated, generic and contained poor level design.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dx9- DX10 johnnyuterus O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 March 23, 2009 06:23 PM
Very high in DX9 vs DX10 magictorch Rumor Mill 16 January 11, 2008 10:44 PM
HEXUS has Crysis—DX10 hands-on Supergrover Press Releases & Tech News 9 August 27, 2007 12:41 PM
DX10.1, the end of Dx10 cards? magictorch Video Cards 9 August 20, 2007 11:12 AM
DX10 / DX9 side-by-side screenies for CONAN Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 4 May 1, 2007 05:00 AM