Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 02:08 PM
punk_zappa's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yellowknife
Posts: 965
Default So...

My RAID0 crashed 2 weeks ago. Before that happened I was playing CoH, probably half way the game, and I had it installed on a different partition. When I fired it up after getting my rig running again, no saved games. So I have to start all over again.

How can I direct the saved progress to the same folder as the game so I don't have to redo all of the progress if it happened again?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 02:54 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

D'OH. Read what you said for the third time and clicked in. edited...

Hmm, I'm not finding anything.

Honestly, I don't know why when they install a game to just install EVERYTHING into it's own game folder. Guess it would make things too simple.

Last edited by Perineum; August 14, 2009 at 03:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 07:36 PM
Technokat's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London Ontario
Posts: 517

My System Specs

Default

If I remember itsunder the users directory where your pc keeps the documents Directory etc
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2009, 03:49 PM
punk_zappa's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yellowknife
Posts: 965
Default

I guess the question is not so clear. Sorry guys.

What I am meaning to ask is if I can save the games in a different partition, maybe the same game folder as it is installed in a different partition?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2009, 04:49 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

Is it a Steam game? Or the normal version?
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2009, 05:04 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

What OS you running?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2009, 12:12 AM
punk_zappa's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yellowknife
Posts: 965
Default

Regular dvd installed games, running Windows 7.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2009, 03:02 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Maybe something like this?

Windows 7 - Moving My Documents
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2009, 09:23 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,089

My System Specs

Default

Keep in mind that a lot of games use the hidden \ProgramData folder in Vista. I imagine 7 is the same. I back up that and my user folder onto another drive.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2009, 11:36 AM
punk_zappa's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yellowknife
Posts: 965
Default

Thanks guys. That's the one I am looking for.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes