Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2009, 11:38 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

All personal data for any user must be stored within that users profile folder (Ex: C:\users\<yourusername>) back up that folder often from your raid 0 to avoid this problem in the future.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2009, 12:56 PM
punk_zappa's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yellowknife
Posts: 965
Default

I am not using RAID anymore, takes long to boot with AMD chipset. I'd setup RAID with INTEL anytime.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2009, 01:03 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by punk_zappa View Post
I am not using RAID anymore, takes long to boot with AMD chipset. I'd setup RAID with INTEL anytime.
I'm sure you haven't had That bad boot times using an AMD raid controller... Lowfat or anyone else (me like) that's used an separate controller knows how long it takes a system to boot when its "Bringing up the controller...". It can hang for 10 - 15 seconds if not more, lol. Now that's a bad bootup time, hehe.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2009, 03:45 PM
punk_zappa's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yellowknife
Posts: 965
Default

It was with AMD RAID controller and I was comparing it to an INTEL RAID controller and with INTEL I am in my desktop faster, maybe half a minute or so.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes