Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2009, 12:11 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 60
Default World of Warcraft loading time

Ok so here is my problem
i play wow in full screen mode (1920 x 1200)
and every time i tabbed out (alt + tab) for other tasks and i tabbed bak in the game
it takes more than 10 secs for the screen to come bak up

is it coz my hard drive time too slow ?

here is my rig

core i 7 OCed to 4.0Ghz
ASUS P6T deluxe
BFG GTX285 OCX 1GB
6gig OCZ 1600 LV6GK
2x Seagate 320G 7200rpm 16M 7200.11 running Raid 0
Win vista 64bit

Last edited by hatabilly0204; June 21, 2009 at 12:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2009, 03:40 AM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

2x OCZ Vertex or 2x X-25M in RAID-0 will solve your issues! :)

Seriously now.... it looks as if your rig is geared for speed.... these SSD's will make loading a lot faster....! Alt+Tab in a game will always take a while since it has to reload the entire game, but if you don't wish to wait.... see the solution above :)
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2009, 06:36 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,577

My System Specs

Default

Play in Windowed mode, that way you are never alt-tabing, just selecting the tab at the bottom of the windows screen and you lose virtually nothing onscreen for it
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2009, 09:34 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,479

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
Play in Windowed mode, that way you are never alt-tabing, just selecting the tab at the bottom of the windows screen and you lose virtually nothing onscreen for it
+1.

This is your issue. I run wow on my rig, and alt tab during raid downtime without issues. There is never a 'pause'.

Just select window mode, fullscreen or some such. I forget the exact 2nd box name to keep it so you dont have the title screen at the top.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2009, 09:54 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 60
Default

the thing is, before the hard driver raid set up
tabb in and out of the game doesn't seem to take that long to load usually no more than 3 sec and now it takes 10 secs or more

after the raid set up, the loading wow seem a little bit faster (in the loading screen)
and the benchmark results are better too

just tabbing bak in the game take relatively long time to load
i wonder why =(
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2009, 10:53 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 135
Default

This happens to me with Team Fortress 2, it's probably nothing to worry about. As others have said, try playing in windowed mode if you need to multitask. Another possibility is it could just be a bug that will be fixed in a later patch; I used to play WoW and I never had this problem, but I haven't really played since Lich King came out.
__________________
Q6600 G0 @ 3.0GHz - P5Q-E - EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 - Corsair TX750 - Coolermaster HAF 932 - Xigmatek HDT-S1283 - Mushkin Redline 2x2gb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2009, 01:27 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Try defragmenting your hard drives, might just be whats causing the slow down when you tab back in, but I also just played windowed and I normally played at 1440x900 (on a 1650x1080 monitor) so that I could see my task bar and be able to just click on msn messages or websites for questing ect. By doing this tabing was instant and I never had slow downs on a system MUCH slower then yours (x2 5000+ 9800GTX+ with 2gb ram).
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2009, 07:45 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 108

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof. Dr. Silver View Post
2x OCZ Vertex or 2x X-25M in RAID-0 will solve your issues! :)

Seriously now.... it looks as if your rig is geared for speed.... these SSD's will make loading a lot faster....! Alt+Tab in a game will always take a while since it has to reload the entire game, but if you don't wish to wait.... see the solution above :)


Talk about swatting a fly with a sledgehammer,would make for a snappy system though. The windowed mode mention by the others has always worked for me.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2009, 10:22 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Thing is I never had any issues with alt tabbing weather it was windowed or not o.O was always pretty much instant for me, even on a slow 320gb hard drive. Id still say try a defrag.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2009, 08:55 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,577

My System Specs

Default

Well what else do you have running when you are playing WoW and tabbing back and forth, something could be eating up a large part of your stack/ram and causing the slow transition back and forth from desktop to WoW.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SteelSeries World of Warcraft keyboard VS Logitech G 15 JYerxa Peripherals 5 December 14, 2008 09:02 PM
World of Warcraft at 1920x1200 ifox23 Video Cards 11 December 8, 2008 02:05 PM
7900GT + World of WarCraft miggs78 Video Cards 9 September 29, 2008 12:52 PM
Issue with world of warcraft - long loading NuxTux Gaming 0 February 7, 2008 11:04 AM
World of Warcraft : Wrath of the Lich King omgwtf Gaming 1 August 13, 2007 02:30 PM