Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2009, 12:07 AM
Poison Ivy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vernon, BC
Posts: 67
Thumbs down EMERGENCY! Ok not quite..but what would cause this? (Internet issue)

My story really quick...

Lived in Vernon, BC had Shaw Extreme-I. Around last November started getting lag in every game I played... mostly MMOs like Warhammer, AOC type stuff. Talking about rubber banding, high latency type lag. Bought a new router, didn't help. Called Shaw, they said everything was fine.
On a whim I tried using a VPN, instantly fixed, no lag at all in any games!

Fast forward, I moved to another city, Kamloops BC. Have Shaw High Speed, new apartment, new modem. Log into Aion, get the rubber banding lag from hell. Noone else in the game getting lag...
So just to try it, I log into the VPN again, boom no lag.

WTF SHAW!!!!!!!!!

Is this a conspiracy or what? Very frustrating.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2009, 10:32 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,040

My System Specs

Default

Start doing trace routes, find out where the lag is. If the lag is on a shaw server, then nail 'em to the wall
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2009, 04:54 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 276
Default

AOC?!?!?!? I thought I was all alone!

And to answer your question: Yes. Yes, it is. I downgraded from the super-duper account to the "light" version, and it's dial-up speed. Actually, it seems worse than i remember dial-up being. Watching normal pages (like this one) loading line by line is ridiculous, at any price.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2009, 06:34 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Just out of curiosity are you running any torrents in the background while you play? even if their throttled? Im on telus and I get the same lag spikes even if I have Utorrent paused in the background, it lag spikes harshly every few minutes then comes back down slowly. If I exit Utorrent completely I have 0 issues. Also I ran shaws top level internet for a while and its a waste of money, the mid level was much closer to rated speeds for a good amount less, when we had it it was the 25mbps rated speed and we where lucky to get 17mbps normally. Also remember lag comes from both upload and download so if your uploading anything (torrents) it will clog the tubes and slow you down as well.

I have alot of family in kamloops (was born there) hows the weather today?
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 09:22 PM
Poison Ivy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vernon, BC
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Realityshift View Post
Just out of curiosity are you running any torrents in the background while you play? even if their throttled? Im on telus and I get the same lag spikes even if I have Utorrent paused in the background, it lag spikes harshly every few minutes then comes back down slowly. If I exit Utorrent completely I have 0 issues. Also I ran shaws top level internet for a while and its a waste of money, the mid level was much closer to rated speeds for a good amount less, when we had it it was the 25mbps rated speed and we where lucky to get 17mbps normally. Also remember lag comes from both upload and download so if your uploading anything (torrents) it will clog the tubes and slow you down as well.

I have alot of family in kamloops (was born there) hows the weather today?
Nope for my illegal downloading I mostly use Rapidshare..honestly Ive tried everything... this is an ongoing and frustrating issue that I can only resolve with a 15/month VPN

BTW the weathers pretty bad, rain, clouds, wind etc.. hope itll perk up soon! The beginning of June was great though.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 09:56 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,509

My System Specs

Default

Use PingPlotter and find out where the latency is coming from. I'm in the Yukon and have experienced the same problems from time to time over the last year and a half. Almost all of northwest Canada's routing goes through Washington State for gaming, if you're connecting to a west coast server that is. Having said that, most of the problems seem to be coming from the last gateway exiting Canada and the first gateway entering the States.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2009, 04:26 AM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Yeah this week was a complete write off weather wise as well, rain rain rain, but from around april to the middle of june was BEAUTIFUL up here.

Hmm thats puzzling, I agree you should run a ping and see where your dropping off, also try running the speakeasy speedtest and test further south just to see what happens.. dont pick seattle go further south then that.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2009, 12:43 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rocky Mountain House
Posts: 836

My System Specs

Default

I'm in AB, but my main gateway was Vancouver and I had the exact same problems. Switched to TekSavvy & it's been fine ever since.

Spent a lot of time on the phone with Shaw and even sent them traceroute & ping plotter reports showing the latency spike going from 20 up to around 150 in Vancouver, but they insisted the issue was outside the Shaw system so there was nothing they could do.

I'd really suggest switching ISP's & see if that resolves your issues.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best internet? Bucklaz Off Topic 19 February 12, 2009 08:11 AM
Internet problems Lpfan4ever Troubleshooting 9 December 20, 2008 09:33 PM
Emergency overlords Troubleshooting 33 September 30, 2008 10:24 PM
internet suite (all in one) CTA O/S's, Drivers & General Software 21 August 26, 2008 03:32 PM
emergency quick question tom.mullie Troubleshooting 7 April 25, 2008 07:46 AM