Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 03:26 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default Time to ask the noobiest question of them all: How do I increase my wow fps!?

OK SO! I am not and WILL NOT buy a video card because I don't have the MONEY. Secondly if my friends computer with worse specs then me and no graphics card can run it faster then so should I. All Of my setting are at the lowest possible anti-aliasing is off and the hardware input lag reduction thing is off.

My ram is 2gb@400mhz (I feel this is a bottleneck because of the speed)
My cpu is a Pentium D 945 @3.4ghz (It only runs at 50-52 percent when in highly populated areas any other time it doesn't even break a sweat)

My hard drive is a Maxtor 6L200S0 (Any settings I could change to increase speed?)

So ya I am open to overclocking and that's all I really have to say.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 03:34 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

1) No GPU Specs
2) What game?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 03:37 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

Wow = world of warcraft and the gpu is an intel 865G
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 03:41 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andynerd View Post
Wow = world of warcraft and the gpu is an intel 865G
With that CPU and that GPU you aren't going to be able to do a whole lot.

WoW is more dependent on your internet than your CPU.

Server lag can also play a huge role in performance of the game too.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 04:09 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

True but that was the second time someone said anything about my cpu why is this cpu so bad? It is fast it is dual core and the technology isn't that old!

Also not to be rude but I get the feeling here that the majority of you are 20+ with careers so it is kind of hard to ask if I can make what i have work when most of you could buy anew.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 04:14 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andynerd View Post
True but that was the second time someone said anything about my cpu why is this cpu so bad? It is fast it is dual core and the technology isn't that old!

Also not to be rude but I get the feeling here that the majority of you are 20+ with careers so it is kind of hard to ask if I can make what i have work when most of you could buy anew.
Career? I've been on EI since January which runs out end of this month and no work in sight.

Your Pentium D is like 7 years old and severely outdated.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 04:15 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,235

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andynerd View Post
True but that was the second time someone said anything about my cpu why is this cpu so bad? It is fast it is dual core and the technology isn't that old!
Unfortunately the cpu is from the era of AMD being king. The closest equivalent would probably be the S939 X2 3800 (2G proc speed), and that would blow the doors off of it.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 04:17 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,235

My System Specs

Default

Does wow take advantage of multi-core procs at all? If not, it might be in your interest to try to find a S939 AMD single core proc that somebody might be willing to trade for your dual core.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 04:21 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Is that 200GB Sata drive 5400 or 7200rpm?

Do you have any available AGP slots on that board? A videocard is better than any integrated GPU will ever be.

Lastly you might consider a new computer all together.

Regards,

EE
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 04:29 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,136
Default

Personally, I don't see the CPU being an issue. It's older technology, but it should still be able to handle the job. The video card on the other hand - integrated graphics solutions were meant for showing your Windows Desktop, and not much more unfortunately. If budget is tight, there's not too much you can do about it, but even a $60-70 AGP graphics card would probably be a world of improvement over the integrated graphics you have now. Beyond that, if your hard drive isn't thrashing constantly (you'd hear it), it's probably doing fine.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question if anyone has the time Soultribunal HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 February 18, 2009 11:22 AM
GTX260 SP increase Shadowed Video Cards 3 August 22, 2008 12:41 PM
24" - Question - Gaming FPS rjbarker Display Units 1 April 20, 2008 01:23 PM
Large Increase in vCore From 3.6 - 3.8Ghz rjbarker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 17 April 9, 2008 09:14 AM
RAM prices to increase ? enzeo Rumor Mill 10 July 9, 2007 12:46 PM