Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2009, 11:13 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default EzQuake mini! Quake 1 multiplayer

Heres a goodie for anyone who loved quake 1.

http://erwin.c4gn.net/files/MQuake.exe

Erwin over at Erwinsrealms.com made a nice little distro of EZquake that is 5mbs when zipped but includes everything you need to play quake 1 deathmatch . This works great and runs on windows vista 64bit without any tweaking. Erwin also has a server based in BC that sees a few matches once in a while, we are trying to get more people to come down and play.

This download does not include any of the single player maps, you can however install it over regular quake 1 installs if you want to play single player maps..

There are also high rez textures available at LordHavoc's DarkPlaces Quake Modification and a really nice lighting mod that allows for high rez play with lighting and fog effects much like what we saw in doom 3 =) But still allows for the same old quake feeling.

Its amazing how fast this game becomes adicting again >.< and with the 5mb installer and no high rez graphics I get 3k fps on a single 9800GTX+
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2009, 12:33 AM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 438

My System Specs

Default

awesome will give it a try
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2009, 01:32 AM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,670
Default

lol at that frame rate
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2009, 06:16 AM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

I can't seem to start a server with this, so I'm assuming its the client side stuff only. I look forward to playing this at home.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2009, 01:00 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Yeah its meant for a quick connect to premade servers.

Connect titan.servequake.com will connect to our server if you want to test it. Ive had issues connecting via any other way then console, but im used to setting up configs via console anyhow.

Ill talk to erwin about how to go about setting up a server through the distro next time I see him or making a 2nd distro for dedicated servers.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quake Live Open Beta Cheator Gaming 15 February 26, 2009 07:37 AM
Garry's Mod Multiplayer... shayan288 Gaming 2 January 29, 2009 03:52 PM
Gloom Mod for Quake II Bucklaz Off Topic 0 December 28, 2008 01:09 AM
Far Cry Multiplayer any good? freakyflow Gaming 9 October 27, 2008 07:18 AM
Quake Wars TopDogZero Gaming 4 June 18, 2008 08:06 AM